Research Guides: Pastoral Studies: Open Educational Resources

OpenCourseWare Resources

Educational course materials that have been created by faculty available outside of the institution. Materials can include syllabi, written lectures, assignments, readings, videotaped lectures, and audio lectures.

MIT OCW
Johns Hopkins - School of Public Health
Open Michigan
Middle East Technical University (content in English and Turkish)
The Open University - United Kingdom
Oxford University Podcasts
Tufts OCW
Y ale OCW

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

DOAJ
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 50% of which comes from sponsors and 50% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.

Mellon Center Workshops

Exploring Open Resources for Teaching & Learning (2017)
- Workshop presented by Mark Liffiton & Chris Sweet (May 2017)

Definition and Licenses:

Open Pedagogy

Definitions:

Examples:

"Why have students answer questions when they can write them?"
Digital Scholarship 106 (ds106)
Extreme Makeover: Pedagogy Edition

Collections:

Tools for OERs

Open Access Images

British Library Images The British Library has released over a million images onto Flickr Commons for anyone to use, remix and repurpose. These images were taken from the pages of 17th, 18th and 19th century books digitized by Microsoft who then generously gifted the scanned images to the Library, who then released them back into the Public Domain. The images themselves cover a startling mix of subjects: There are maps, geological diagrams, beautiful illustrations, comical satire, illuminated and decorative letters, colourful illustrations, landscapes, wall-paintings and so much more that even we are not aware of.
British Museum Digital Collection The British Museum collection database is a growing collection of digitized objects from the museum's collection. There are already over four-million objects represented digitally, and more objects, records, and images are added each week! Most images are available under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.
French Revolution Digital Archive The Images are composed of high-resolution digital images of approximately 12,000 individual visual items, primarily prints, but also illustrations, medals, coins, and other objects, which display aspects of the Revolution. These materials were selected from across the BnF’s departments, and include thousands of images for the important collections entitled Hennin and De Vinck. Detailed metadata exists for the images, so that researchers can search by artist, subject, genre, and place.
Getty Museum's Collection The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required. There are currently 10,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program. These include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks. Over time, images from the Getty Conservation Institute will be added, as well as more images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute.
Getty Search Gateway The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required. There are currently 10,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program. These include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks. Over time, images from the Getty Conservation Institute will be added, as well as more images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute.
Google Art Project Goodle Art Project provides access to 40,000 works of art from over 250 museums.
Metropolitan Museum of Art (OASC) Initiative This collection provides access to more than 400,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum's collection. These images may be downloaded directly from the Museum’s website for non-commercial use—including in scholarly publications in any media—without permission from the Museum and without a fee. The number of available images will increase as new digital files are added on a regular basis.
National Gallery of Art Images NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts. More than 32,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.
Pexels Pexels provides high quality and completely free stock photos licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license. All photos are nicely tagged, searchable and also easy to discover through our discover pages. There are currently around 25,000 free stock photos available, and every month at least 3,000 new high resolution photos will be added. All photos are hand-picked from photos uploaded by Pexel users or sourced from free image websites. Pexels makes sure all published pictures are high-quality and licensed under CC0.
Wellcome Images Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Pastoral Studies