Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Arrupe College: Open Educational Resources

OER Tool Box

Open Educational Resources

What are open educational resources?

"OER are teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others. Open educational resources include full courses, course materials, modules, textbooks, streaming videos, tests, software, and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support access to knowledge." [1]

Why use open educational resources?

If you need extra help in a particular topic OER can provide some learning support. Be it through tutorial videos or free e-books. Additionally it gives the opportunity to independently learn on a particular topic of interest.

OpenCourseWare Resources

Educational course materials that have been created by faculty available outside of the institution. Materials can include syllabi,  written lectures, assignments, readings, videotaped lectures, and audio lectures.

Khan Academy

Khan Academy

Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.

We tackle math, science,  history, art history, economics, and more. Our math missions guide learners from kindergarten to calculus using state-of-the-art, adaptive technology that identifies strengths and learning gaps. We've also partnered with institutions like NASA, The Museum of Modern Art, The California Academy of Sciences, and MIT to offer specialized content.

Open E-books: Textbooks

  • Open Textbook Library – OTL, with over 350 books, is a clearinghouse of links to books in various locations, including OpenStax, Saylor and others. Books in the OTL have been peer reviewed for quality, and the Open Textbook Library has multiple criteria for inclusion in the Library.
  • OpenStax  – These books were developed following traditional textbook publishing methods, including peer review, editorial support, and creation of ancillary content. Books are available in multiple formats (PDF, print on demand, on the Web) and are licensed to be revised and remixed by faculty who want create a custom solution for a course.
  • BC Campus OpenEd – This site includes texts written specifically for the BC OpenTextbook initiative, as well as books from other sources.
  • Lumen Learning – Lumen provides open courses in a variety of high-demand subjects and disciplines. These courses are collections of high-quality OER, not necessarily as a traditional textbook.  You can use them as-is or modify them to fit your instructional style and students’ needs.
  • HathiTrust – HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
  • The Directory of OpenAccess Books  – This site is a clearinghouse of links to books hosted in various locations, and includes a large selection of international textbooks.
  • Saylor.org Bookshelf – This collection includes books written specifically for Saylor.org as well as the original editions of the FlatWorldKnowledge textbooks (subsequent editions are only offered for purchase). You can view all their resources by subject area in their library
  • Project Gutenberg (https://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page) – A volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works. Most items in this collection are digitized works from the public domain, making it a rich source for those in the Humanities.

EDx

edX