Asian Studies at Loyola
Find Books
- Pegasus Online CatalogFind books, journal titles, a/v materials, e-books, dissertations and all materials owned by Loyola Libraries.
- WorldCatAll material cataloged by OCLC member libraries.
Handbook of Oriental Studies (hdo)
Handbook of Oriental Studies (hdo)
Scholarly reference works, bibliographic works and research tools pertaining to the political, economic, and social history of the Near and Middle East, encompassing studies of religions, the sciences, archaeology (including Egyptology) and linguistics. The Libraries have a print standing order to this series. The link will take you to the catalog records for each volume in our WorldCat Local database.
Selected Web Sites
- AsiaMedia: Media News DailyAsiaMedia is a daily electronic publication that delivers news about all aspects of the media in Asia, including its role in regional and national economies, societies, and political debate.
- Japan FocusExplores the Asian-Pacific world through journalism and scholarship.
Featured Collections
- Digital South Asia LibraryThe Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users.
- CRL Resources on China Highlights collections at the Center for Research Libraries that are available to Loyola University students, faculty, and staff.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesThis vital resource contains close to 688,000 references to books, journal articles, individually-authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc., published from 1971 until the present day.
Disciplinary and Interdisciplinary Databases
Please search these databases in addition to the Bibliography of Asian Studies (featured above) when looking for articles to support work in Asian Studies.
- Academic Search CompleteProvides indexing in wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural issues.
- America: History & LifeFinds journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations published on the American and Canadian history.
- Anthropological PlusA combined search of Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index.
- ArtAbstracts FulltextCovers the world of the arts from architecture to video, including art publications worldwide and serves as a comprehensive record of art reproductions that appear in the indexed publications.
- ATLA Religion IndexA comprehensive reference database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research.
- Film & Television Literature IndexA bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.
- Historical AbstractsComplete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
- JSTORA collection of electronic full-text journals. Titles are usually covered from their first issue, excluding only the most recent 2-5 years.
- Lexis-NexisDatabase of news, business and legal information.
- MLA International BibliographyIndexes critical literary and language scholarship from journals and serials published worldwide, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
- Sociological AbstractsIndexes journals covering all facets of sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsProvides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
More Reference Sources
- Asian American History & Culture: An EncyclopediaWith overview essays and more than 400 A-Z entries, this exhaustive encyclopedia documents the history of Asians in America from earliest contact to the present day. Organized topically by group, with an in-depth overview essay on each group, the encyclopedia examines the myriad ethnic groups and histories that make up the Asian American population in the United States.
- Asian and Pacific Islander Population in the United StatesU.S. Census Bureau.
- Berkshire Encyclopedia of China (5 vols.)Modern and historic views of the world's newest and oldest global power.
- Brill's Encyclopedia of ChinaEncyclopedia coverage of China from its early beginnings, with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century. Arranged in alphabetical order, it covers the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China. All contributions are written by an international team of European, Asian, Australian and American experts, carefully selected from a wide spectrum of academic disciplines.
- dHRAF World CulturesContains more than a quarter of a million pages of full-text descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Indexed by culture and subject.
- Europa World Year BookFirst published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural AmericaContains 8,000 to 12,000 word essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns.
- Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific 2007he Yearbook presents data compiled from global sources maintained by United Nations agencies and other international organizations."
Subject Librarian |
Contact Info Cudahy Library Loyola University Libraries Loyola University Chicago 6525 N. Sheridan Road Chicago, IL 60626 Phone: 773-508-2637 Fax: 773-508-2993 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
