The Loyola Libraries' Subject Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | X

A
Agency Based Research (SOWK 606)
by Susan Wardzala - Last Updated Sep 8, 2010
Resources for the Social Work Course 606 Agency Based Research and Practice Evaluation with Prof. Cheryl Irmiter.

Aging in Asia and the Southern Pacific
by Susan Wardzala - Last Updated Jun 16, 2010
SOWK 634 Special Topics: Global Social Issues and Social Work Responses: Aging

American History Subject Guide
by Jeannette Pierce - Last Updated Feb 15, 2012
This guide highlights print and online collections that support the study of American history at Loyola University Chicago.

Anthropology
by Sherri Rollins - Last Updated Apr 30, 2012
Databases and useful links for research in Anthropology

Apps for Academics
by Tara Radniecki - Last Updated Apr 5, 2012

Archives and Special Collections
by Kathy Young - Last Updated Feb 4, 2009

Asian Studies Subject Guide
by Jeannette Pierce - Last Updated Jan 5, 2012
An interdisciplinary guide to Asian Studies Resources at Loyola University Chicago.

B
Biology
by Tara Radniecki - Last Updated Dec 8, 2011
Useful links and databases for research in Biology & interdisciplinary course work.

Black World Studies
by Stephen Macksey - Last Updated Feb 22, 2012
Guide to research resources on Black World Studies.

Business Administration
by Taya Franklin - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Locate business related resources, such as, articles, company profiles, and market research information.

C
Careers
by Maureen Smith, Reference Department - Last Updated Aug 5, 2010
Career and job search resources

Census Research
by Jamie MacDonald - Last Updated Nov 2, 2011
Exploring the United States Census

Chemistry
by Stephen Macksey - Last Updated May 9, 2012
Resources for research in Chemistry.

Chicago Community Resources
by Susan Wardzala, Jamie MacDonald - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Resources for researching and profiling Chicago Communitees

Classical Studies
by Jane Currie - Last Updated May 2, 2012
Locate core research resources in Classical Studies: Classical civilization as well as ancient Greek and Latin

Communication
by Taya Franklin - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012

Computer Science
by Kristina Schwoebel - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012
A basic guide to resources in Computer Science

Criminal Justice
by Susan Wardzala - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
A list of Resources for general research in the area of Criminal Justice


Cultural Competence
by Tara Radniecki - Last Updated Sep 15, 2011

Curriculum Collection at Lewis Library
by Tracy Ruppman - Last Updated May 10, 2012
This guide is intended to help students enrolled in the School of Education find resources related to curriculum development.

Curriculum Resources on the Internet
by Tracy Ruppman - Last Updated Mar 28, 2012
This guide provides an overview of web resources related to curriculum.

D
Dalai Lama
by Jamie MacDonald, Jane Currie - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012
Dedicated to creating awareness of the life and work of His Holiness Tenzin Gyatso, the 14th Dalai Lama.

Dance
by Jennifer Jacobs - Last Updated Apr 17, 2012

E
E-Books
by Reference Department - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012
A guide for using electronic books available through the Loyola University Libraries System.

Economics
by Taya Franklin - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Locate economic related resources.

Education
by Tracy Ruppman - Last Updated May 2, 2012
How to find resources for educational research

Engaged Learning
by Tracy Ruppman - Last Updated Jul 22, 2011

English
by Niamh McGuigan - Last Updated Aug 25, 2011
This guide contains information about basic resources for doing literary research at the Loyola Chicago Libraries.

English as a Second Language (ESL)
by Jamie MacDonald - Last Updated Aug 30, 2011

Environmental Sciences
by Tara Radniecki - Last Updated Sep 8, 2011

ESL Reading Materials
by Jamie MacDonald - Last Updated Sep 14, 2011
This guide is intended to help students enrolled in the ESL program find additional reading material.

F
Film Studies
by Niamh McGuigan - Last Updated Aug 25, 2011
A guide to film studies resources

Fine Arts
by David Givens - Last Updated Apr 19, 2012
This is a guide to Loyola's (and the web's) Fine Arts resources.

Forensic Sciences
by Susan Wardzala, Stephen Macksey, Tara Radniecki - Last Updated Apr 23, 2010
Sources for Research in the Forensic Sciences.

G
Gangs
by Susan Wardzala - Last Updated Oct 29, 2010

General Reference
by Reference Department - Last Updated Jan 9, 2012
This is a guide for finding general reference tools.


Government Information
by Jamie MacDonald - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
How and where to find United States federal and other government information.

H
Haiti
by Taya Franklin - Last Updated Jan 25, 2010
This guide offers information and resources on Haiti, including humanitarian efforts underway in response to the earthquake of January 12, 2010.

Health Statistics
by Tara Radniecki - Last Updated Mar 14, 2011
This portal is designed to help find statistics on particular disorders, diseases, population groups, health trends, hospital utilization, costs, and health related issues.



History 326: The Second World War
by Anthony Cordaro, Jeannette Pierce - Last Updated Apr 28, 2012
This guide is to help the students currently enrolled in the History 326 class taught by Thomas Knapp.

History 366A: World War I and American Culture
by Anthony Cordaro, Jeannette Pierce - Last Updated Apr 30, 2012
This subject guide is aimed to help students currently enrolled in History 366A: World War I and American Culture.


History 453: Civil War and Reconstruction
by Jeannette Pierce - Last Updated Nov 2, 2010
A guide to resources at the Loyola University Libraries.

History of Computing
by Kristina Schwoebel - Last Updated Jan 27, 2012

History Pedagogy Seminar
by Jeannette Pierce, Elizabeth Myers - Last Updated Oct 21, 2011
Resources for teaching assistants in the History Department.

History Subject Guide
by Jeannette Pierce - Last Updated Mar 26, 2012
The guide highlights important resources that all history students will find useful regardless of specific interests within the field.

I
Image Collections
by Jeannette Pierce - Last Updated Sep 2, 2011
This guide highlights image collections subscribed to by the Loyola University Libraries and selected collections openly available on the Web.

International Studies
by Jamie MacDonald - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
International studies prepares students to address international issues by providing them with a deep understanding of the culture, history and politics of other regions of the world, coupled with a proficiency in a modern language.

Islamic World Studies
by Jane Currie - Last Updated Feb 28, 2012
Locate core research resources related to Islam and the Islamic world

J
Jane Addams
by Susan Wardzala - Last Updated Apr 1, 2010
Resources for information on Jane Addams and Hull House.

K
Klarchek Information Commons' Names
by Leslie Haas - Last Updated Jul 6, 2011
On the outer walls near the top of the building, philosophers are listed on the north side and theologians on the south side.

L
Latin American Studies
by Niamh McGuigan - Last Updated Sep 14, 2010
An interdisciplinary guide to Latin American Studies Resources at Loyola University Chicago.

Law and Basic Legal Research
by Jamie MacDonald - Last Updated Aug 25, 2011
A legal studies subject guide for non-law students.

Library Science
by Ursula Scholz - Last Updated Mar 15, 2012
Research in Library and Information Science

M
Math & Statistics
by Kristina Schwoebel - Last Updated Sep 1, 2011
Guide for research in mathematics and statistics

Medieval Studies Subject Guide
by Jeannette Pierce - Last Updated May 11, 2012
This guide is intended for use by undergraduate and new graduate students interested in the field of Medieval Studies.

Mobile Resources
by Tara Radniecki - Last Updated Feb 10, 2011
Information on accessing and using the Libraries' mobile resources.

Modern Languages
by Niamh McGuigan - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011
This guide contains information about basic resources for doing research in modern languages at the Loyola Chicago Libraries.

Music
by Jennifer Jacobs - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012

N
Need Help?
by Reference Department, Susan Wardzala - Last Updated Mar 26, 2012
Describes reference and research assistance offered by the Loyola University Libraries.

News & Current Events
by Jeannette Pierce - Last Updated Jun 2, 2011
This guide highlights the Libraries' online subscription news services and selected news sites on the Web.

No Impact @ Loyola
by Tara Radniecki, Jennifer Jacobs - Last Updated Nov 22, 2011

Nursing
by Tara Radniecki - Last Updated Mar 20, 2012
Research resources in Nursing.

O
Online Video Resources
by Reference Department - Last Updated Feb 10, 2012
This guide provides access to licensed video collections at Loyola, as well as web resources that may be accessed via the Internet.

P
Pastoral Studies
by Yolande Wersching - Last Updated Jan 23, 2012
This is a brief description of how to access databases, books, journal articles, and other information on pastoral, theological and religious topics when doing research at Loyola University Chicago.

Peace Studies
by Jamie MacDonald - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
Loyola's Peace Studies program offers an integrated examination of violence and conflict, focusing on three distinct spheres of violence, conflict and peacemaking: international, societal and ecological.

Pegasus Help
by Reference Department - Last Updated Jun 15, 2010
Instructions and Tips to increase effective searching of the Loyola University Libraries Online catalog.

Philosophy
by Jane Currie - Last Updated Feb 28, 2012
Locate core research resources in philosophy and ethics

Physics
by Stephen Macksey - Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
Research resources in Physics.

Political Science
by Jamie MacDonald - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
Databases and useful links for research in Political Science.

Primary and Secondary Resources
by Susan Wardzala - Last Updated Oct 1, 2008
A guide to finding resources and determining which are primary and secondary.

Psychological Measures
by Susan Wardzala - Last Updated May 13, 2010
Psychological Measures are tools of assessment, such as questionnaires, inventories, and scales, which are used to evaluate populations, individuals, or processes.

Psychology
by Stephen Macksey - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012
Guide to print and online resources for research in psychology.

Public History Subject Guide
by Jeannette Pierce - Last Updated Mar 26, 2012
Public History applies the skills and methods of history to the study, management, preservation, and interpretation of historical records, artifacts, and sites. This guide has resources for Archives, Museum Studies, Historic Preservation, and Oral History

Public Policy
by Susan Wardzala, Jamie MacDonald - Last Updated Oct 26, 2011
A guide to resources for tracing a public policy through it's development and history.

R
RefWorks 2.0
by Kristina Schwoebel - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012

Rome Studies
by Elise Aversa - Last Updated Jan 23, 2012
Locate information useful for different Rome Studies subjects

S
Santa Claus
by Tara Radniecki - Last Updated Dec 19, 2011

Scholarly Metrics
by Stephen Macksey - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
An explanation of terms used in analyzing scholarly literature.

September 11th Attacks
by Susan Wardzala, Jamie MacDonald - Last Updated Sep 13, 2011

Serial Killer - Research Sources
by Susan Wardzala - Last Updated Apr 1, 2010
Sources for the biography and profiling of Serial Killers.

Shakespeare
by Niamh McGuigan - Last Updated Oct 22, 2009
A guide to research materials and resources for William Shakespeare, 1564-1616.

Social Work
by Susan Wardzala - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
A basic guide to resources for scholarship in Social Work.

Social Work Statistics
by Susan Wardzala - Last Updated May 15, 2012

Social Work Students at Carthage College
by Susan Wardzala - Last Updated Jun 24, 2010
Guide to resources and research for students attending the Social Work program located at Carthage College in Kenosha Wisconsin.

Sociology
by Jamie MacDonald - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
Sociology resources at Loyola University Chicago

Statistics - CJ
by Susan Wardzala - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012


T
Theatre
by Jennifer Jacobs - Last Updated Apr 17, 2012
This guide is intended for use by Theatre students at Loyola University of Chicago.

Theology and Religious Studies
by Jane Currie - Last Updated Mar 30, 2012
Locate core research resources in theology, religious studies, Biblical studies, and ethics

Titanic - Commemorating 100 Years
by Susan Wardzala, Tracy Ruppman - Last Updated Apr 9, 2012
Resources about the Titanic to support commemoration events at Loyola University Libraries in 2012.

U

V
Vatican II: 50 Years Later
by Yolande Wersching - Last Updated Feb 22, 2012
A guide to the Second Vatican Council in honor of the 50th Anniversary of its opening.

W
Wise Blood
by Niamh McGuigan - Last Updated Oct 16, 2009
A guide for the Center for Catholic Intellectual Heritage student book club and the Faith in Focus film series


Women's Studies and Gender Studies
by Jane Currie - Last Updated Apr 20, 2012
Locate core research resources related to women's studies and gender studies

WorldCat Local
by Tara Radniecki - Last Updated Aug 27, 2010

X

Xtra Topics - Basic Computer Resources
by Kristina Schwoebel - Last Updated Nov 29, 2011
This guide contains a number of resources and links to help those who are not as familiar with computers to better work with a computer, and to help familiarize themselves with some common resources and programs


Xtra Topics - David Lee Csicsko
by Reference Department - Last Updated Jul 2, 2009
Artwork by David Lee Csicsko hangs in the Lewis Library, 6th floor of 25 E Pearson on Loyola University's Water Tower Campus. This is a guide to information about the artist and his work.

Xtra Topics - Glossary of Library Terms
by Reference Department - Last Updated Aug 27, 2009
Confused by terms on our website? Check here to see what they mean.

Xtra Topics - Linking to Library Resources
by Reference Department - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012
Includes information for creating stable, working electronic links to library resources: guides, databases, electronic books and articles, . . .


Xtra Topics - Presentation Tips
by Kristina Schwoebel - Last Updated Jan 27, 2012


Xtra Topics - Research Alerts
by Stephen Macksey - Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
Research Alerts: Automated Updates to Streamline Your Research

Need help?

Call the reference desk at (773) 508-2654. 

Or, chat with a librarian live 24/7:



 

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Receive Email Updates

Featured Librarian

Profile Image
Niamh McGuigan
Contact Info
Phone: (773) 508-2778
Send Email
 

CUDAHY | IC | LEWIS | ROME
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES | WOMEN & LEADERSHIP ARCHIVES
LAW | HEALTH SCIENCE

Loyola University Chicago Libraries
Cudahy Library · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773.508.2632
Lewis Library · 25 E. Pearson St., Chicago, IL 60611 · 312.915.6622
Comments & Suggestions
Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy