Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Social Work: Grant Resources

Loyola-offered resources

Illinois Grants

Books/Ebooks on Grants

These are just some of the materials on grant writing in the libraries, search the catalog for more.

Foundation Directory Online

Access the database

Introductory Tutorial

Provides subscribers with access to an unprecedented wealth of timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Included is a database of the entire universe of over 108,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; a database of over 4,000 sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders; a database of over 3 million recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of over 1 million recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF. Unique funder portfolios organize additional funder-specific content in one convenient location and include: grantmaker-related news, job opportunities, and Request For Proposals (RFPs); grantmaker-sponsored publications; and officer and trustee affiliations.

The Loyola Libraries are a "Professional" subscriber to this resource.  This allows a single ID and password with one person-at-a-time access, so please do not store information in the database and always sign out when done.  After you enter your Loyola UVID and password, you will be given the FDO ID and password to sign in, then directed to the database.  Click the Sign In button on the upper right of the page to use the ID and password.

Directories of Funding Sources

Subject Guide

Susan Wardzala's picture
Susan Wardzala
Contact:
Social Work / Criminal Justice Librarian
Lewis Library
Loyola Libraries
25 E Pearson #616
Chicago, IL 60611
312-915-6635
swardza@luc.edu
LYNC: swardza
Website / Blog Page

990/990-PF

According to IRS disclosure regulations, exempt organizations must make its three most recently filed annual Form 990 or 990-PF returns and all related supporting documents available for public inspection. This public disclosure rule also applies to Form 1023, which is filed to obtain exempt status.

Below are some ways you can get an organization’s 990s. Please note, there can be a 12-18 month lag period between the end of an organization's fiscal year and when its latest Form 990 is available online:

  • 990 Finder or Foundation Directory Online Quick Start are Foundation Center's free online tools, searchable by name, location, EIN, and more. You can find 990s from the last 3-5 years.  
  • Foundation Directory Online
  • Web sites of the Secretary of State or Attorney General  where the organization is incorporated. Some states may make 990s and other public documents available online or upon individual request.
  • The National Association of State Charity Officials (NASCO) provides a listing of state charity offices.
  • Request them from the organization directly. Requests made in person must be fulfilled immediately, or within 30 days for a written request, with no charge other than a reasonable fee to cover photocopying and mailing expenses. Also, check their Web site for posted copies.
  • Request them from the IRS. The IRS generally takes 4-6 weeks to respond, and it may bill you for copying costs.