Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Arrupe College: Online Resources

Library Resources for Background Information

In the Lewis and Cudahy Libraries Reference Collections there are many great print encyclodpedias, dictionaries, and other reference books.  

We also have many online reference sources which are easy to access and easy to use.  See below for some useful online resources!

Covers a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Each report is divided into specific sections to guide research. Each report is on a single topic--more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies.

Consists of a fully searchable and browsable, authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, and articles not found in the print Britannica.

This e-book collection contains over 60 of Sage's authoritative and award-winning encyclopedias. Browse by either the Readers Guide, Entries, A to Z listing or by Index.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Go here to see more online reference resources

Reference Universe not only provides data about reference works but searches deeply into the indexes of more than 20,000 electronic and print reference works.

Contains more than a quarter of a million pages of full-text descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Indexed by culture and subject.

One of the largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. AP photographers have captured the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment.

International Newspapers

Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers.

The Current Digest of the Chinese Press is collection of articles from key Chinese newspapers on such topics as politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, culture and more.

Provides more than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.

A daily email newsletter of translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media within 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.

ProQuest Newsstand is the online gateway to over 850 international, national, and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Over 575 are full-text titles and many with backfiles dating back to the 1980s and 1990s.

Databases

Loyola University Libraries subscribes to hundreds of research databases that contain articles on many subjects.  Using a database is a smart way to start your article search since you can search many sources at one time. The database that you choose depends on what you're looking for.

If you're just starting your research, then searching a general database such as those listed below is a good approach. These databases contain journal, magazine, newspaper, and publications on a wide range of subjects.

Looking for a specific article in a specific publication? Use the Journal Finder search box below to locate the publication.

  • Article finder - A quick way to start looking for a specific article
  • Databases - We have hundreds of databases where you can search for different types of material
  • Online Guides - Use our online guides to get started with research in a specific subject

Getting Started

Not sure where to start your research? The interdisciplinary databases are good places to search for information on any topic, and have lots of full-text material available. See Getting Started for more tips.

  • Academic Search Complete
    Provides indexing in wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural issues. (more info)
  • JSTOR
    A collection of electronic full-text journals. Titles are usually covered from their first issue, excluding only the most recent 2-5 years. (more info)
  • Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select
    Provides access to full text articles, images, abstracts, and citations from over 4,000 journals contained in the following six Wilson full text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Reader's Guide, Social Sciences & Business. (more info)

Online Video Collections

The Loyola Libraries subscribes to several online streaming media collection.  Videos are a great addition to class syllabuses, reports and presentations, and can contribute greatly to both background and topic specific research!

Below is a list of  some of the licensed video databases available at Loyola. The subject content spans a diverse range of topics, from history to performing and fine arts.

Alexander Street Press' main collection (VAST) of streaming content contains over 20,000 full length videos for instant access including previously featured collections: Dance in Video, Opera in Video, Ethnographic Video Online, and Filmakers Library Online. ASP: VAST contains collections covering a wide variety of disciplines including Criminal Justice, Theatre, Politics, History, New World Cinema, Art, Diversity, Health Sciences, Engineering, Counseling and Therapy.

Black Studies in Video is a signature Alexander Street Press collection featuring documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.

Kanopy Streaming is a new service offering access to thousands of titles from the largest educational film providers. The library will license some whole collections while other titles may be previewed and requested a la carte directly by faculty for instruction. All titles come will full Public Performance Rights and may even be screened outside the classroom where no admission is charged. 

Distributors part of Kanopy Streaming include Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and many more.

LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.

Theatre from Alexander Street features performances of works by American, European, Asian, and other worldwide dramatists from the past several centuries. In addition to performances, Theatre also features dozens of documentaries and interviews about theatre, discussing the history of theatre, acting methods, pioneering dramatists and actors, and much more.

Indexes evening network news broadcasts from 1968 to the present with streaming video for broadcasts from NBC and CNN (broadcasts from other networks only available with payment)

For a complete list check out the Online Video Resources Subject Guide!

Business Sources

Company Profiles/Financial Information

  • Business Source Complete: provides full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business; marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Many of the reports are published by Datamonitor.

  • MarketLine: offers data and up-to-date information on companies, industries and countries across the world. This resource profiles all major companies, industries and geographies. Its content is produced by an internal team of analysts, drawing on primary and secondary research and prepared under an established methodology.

  • Mergent Online: An Internet-based suite of information resources that enables in-depth business and financial research.

Chat with a Librarian

AskLive

      This service is 24/7!

For more information about AskLive see the About AskLive tab.

Contact the Libraries

 
Need assistance? Please access our Need Help guide for all of our help options, including our 24/7 AskLive reference chat service.
 
Contact Info
Lewis Reference
(312) 915-6631
 
Cudahy/IC Reference
(773) 508-2654

US Newspapers

This resource contains millions of newspapers that now include Illinois papers. Search as far back as 1759 through the year 2006, or browse available papers by country, state, city and/or publication.

Provides full-text coverage of popular news magazines. Includes Fortune, People, Time, Newsweek, Sports Illustrated, and Parenting among others.

Complete electronic full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded

Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.

Full-text and full-image articles published in the Chicago Tribune between 1849-1986.

Complete access to the New York Times online edition (nytimes.com) from 1980 through the present. Users can create an account while on campus, from a computer on Loyola’s network, to gain access to nytimes.com from any web browser or smart phone app, on or off campus, with no monthly limits on article access. This resource is limited to current students, faculty, and staff.