Loyola University Chicago Libraries

English: Bninski -- Shakespeare

Reference Sources

Search the Library Catalog

You can use the Library Catalog to search for several different types of sources. The catalog includes all of the books, ebooks, and dvds in our collection, and it also searches most of the journal and magazine articles we have access to. This will be a good place to start searching for books and articles after doing some basic google searching to explore your topic. 

Keep in mind that, because the Library Catalog is a really big database that searches a lot of different material, it's not always the best tool for very specific searches. If you feel that you're not finding what you need in the Library Catalog, consider one of the databases listed below. 

Video

We have dvd copies of many different productions of Shakespeare plays in the library - most of them can be checked out, but a few might have to be watched in the library on one of our computers. You can search for the title of a play in the library catalog, then click on "View all versions," then use the "Resource Type" menu on the left side of the page to filter your search to just "DVD/VHS/Streaming." You can ask for help finding the DVDs on the library shelves at the book check out desk. 

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography is a database for searching for scholarly articles and books about language and literature. It's a little more complicated to use compared with the Library Catalog, but it lets you be more specific in your searches if you already have a good sense of what you're looking for. Trying using this database if you've already spent time with the Library Catalog and you want more academic sources.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a database of academic journal articles that lets you search every word in the article, which is different from most other library databases. For this reason, JSTOR is great for finding really specific things, like a specific quote, but it's not very useful for broad searches like "hamlet and madness." Try using JSTOR if you're trying to track down something very specific, or if you've already tried the library catalog and the MLA International Bibliography and you're still looking for more articles. 

Subject Specialist for English

Niamh McGuigan's picture
Niamh McGuigan
Contact:
Niamh McGuigan
Head of Reference Services
Cudahy Library, 113
773-508-2637