Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Census Research: 1790 Census

Exploring 1st Decennial Census Holdings at LUC

Government publications relating to the 1790 Census can be found in Online Catalog under the subject heading "United States Census, 1st, 1790." This subject heading does not, however, bring up all holdings relating to, about, or that utilize the 1st U.S. Census. For additional materials, try a variety of Subject and keyword searches in the Catalog(e.g. "United States Population Statistics" as a Subject, or "1790 Census" in Keyword Anywhere). If you require any assistance in finding related holdings, please contact the Government Documents librarian.

1st census, 1790. Return of the whole number of persons within the several districts of the United States.
United States. Census Office.
Childs and Swaine, 1791.
56 p.
Location: Library Storage Facility
Call Number: HA201 1790 .A5

Census of the United States (1790). Return of the whole number of persons within the several districts of the United States : according to "An act providing for the enumeration of the inhabitants of the United States," passed March the first, one thousand seven hundred and ninety-one.
New York, N.Y. : N. Ross Pub., 1990.
56 p. ; 29 cm. Facsimile reprint. Original imprint: Philadelphia : Printed by Childs and Swaine, 1791.
Location: Cudahy Main Stacks
Call Number: HA201 1790 .C45 1990

Population of states and counties of the United States : 1790 to 1990 from the twenty-one decennial censuses
Washington, DC : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Population Division : For sale by the U.S. G.P.O., Supt. of Docs. [distributor] ; Springfield, Va., 1996
x, 225 p. ; 28 cm.
Location: Cudahy Reference
Call Number: HA 214 .F67 1996

Sample Related Holdings

    CensusCD+maps, Version 2.0
    East Brunswick, NJ : GeoLytics, c1998.
    1 computer optical disc : col. ; 4 3/4 in. + 1 quick start guide + 1 computer disk 3 3/4 in.
    Location: Cudahy Government Documents Reference
    Call Number: HA 201 1990r2

    The census of 1790 : a demographic history of colonial California
    Mason, William M.
    Menlo Park, CA : Ballena Press, c1998.
    Ballena Press anthropological papers ; no. 45
    Description: vi, 133 p. : ill., maps ; 23 cm. Location: Library Storage Facility
    Call Number: F 870 .S75 M37 1998

    Free African Americans of North Carolina, 3rd Ed.
    Heinegg, Paul.
    Baltimore, MD : Printed for Clearfield Co. by Genealogical Pub. Co., 1997.
    825 p. ; 21 cm.
    Location: Library Storage Facility
    Call Number: E 185.96 .H48 1997

    The historical atlas of state power in Congress, 1790-1990
    Martis, Kenneth C.
    Washington, D.C. : Congressional Quarterly, 1993.
    xv, 190 p. : col. maps ; 26 cm.
    Location: Cudahy Reference
    Call Number: G 1201 .F7 M3 1993

    Historical statistics of the states of the United States : two centuries of the census, 1790-1990
    Dodd, Don.
    Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993.
    viii, 478 p. ; 23 x 29 cm.
    Location: Cudahy Reference
    Call Number: HA 214 .D63 1993

    Map guide to the U.S. federal censuses, 1790-1920.
    Thorndale, William.
    Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co., 1987.
    1 atlas : maps ; 23 x 30 cm.
    Location: Cudahy Reference
    Call Number: G1201.F7 T5 1987

Census Guides at LUC

200 years of U.S. census taking : population and housing questions, 1790-1990.
Bohme, Frederick G.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1989.
iv, 109 p. : ill., forms ; 28 cm.
Location: Cudahy Main Stacks
Call Number: HA37 .U55 B63 1989

Key to the publications of the United States Census (1790-1887)
Lunt, Edward Clark.
New York : Arno Press, 1976.
Demography
68-125 p. ; 23 cm.
Location: Cudahy Government Documents Reference
Call Number: Z7165 .U5 L85 1976

Federal population and mortality schedules, 1790-1910, in the National Archives and the states
Franklin, W. Neil; United States. National Archives and Records Administration.
Washington : National Archives and Records Administration, 1986
xvi, 140 p.
Location: Government Documents Microfiche
Call Number: AE 1.115:24

List of free black heads of families in the First Census of the United States, 1790. Special List No. 34.
Ham, Debra Newman
Washington : National Archives and Records Service, 1973
v, 44 p. ; 27 cm.
Location: Government Documents Microfiche
Call Number: AE 1.115:34

Researcher's guide to United States census availability, 1790-1920, 2nd ed.
Hamilton, Ann B.
Bowie, Md. : Heritage Books, 1992.
iv, 165 p. ; 28 cm.
Location: Cudahy Government Documents Reference
Call Number: CS 49 .H36 1992

Resources at Area Libraries

Chicago Public Library

 

The National Archives Great Lakes Regional Archives

 

The Newberry Library

 

Northwestern University

  • For related holdings, search NUcat for the following Subject Heading: "United States--Census, 1st, 1790"

 

University of Chicago

Electronic Census Guides

1790-1890 Federal Population Censuses Catalog of NARA Microfilm
See also General Information. From The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

Guide to the Content of Federal Decennial Census

Citing Records in the National Archives of the United States,
General Information leaflet No. 17. From NARA.

Clues in Census Records, 1790-1840. From NARA.

Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000. From the U.S. Census Bureau.

Population and Housing Items on the General Census Schedules 1790-2000
Compiled by Grace York, University of Michigan Library, March 2002. Download requires Microsoft Excel.