BEFORE YOU BEGIN: When researching from an off-campus location you MUST login to the proxy server before you begin your search. If you do not login you will not be able to view the full-text versions of the articles. To login to the proxy server please visit: https://flagship.luc.edu/login
SELECTED EDUCATION DATABASES
Below is a list of EDUCATION databases that will likely be the most fruitful for your area of research. Links to these selected databases can be found through the SUBJECT GUIDE link on the main library page. The EDUCATION subject guide page is a great place to begin your searches, but don’t forget about related research fields such as SOCIAL WORK and PSYCHOLOGY.
Academic Search Premier: Provides indexing in wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural issues.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest): This database contains over 2.3 million dissertations and theses completed from around the world. Citations are available dating from 1861, and more than 60,000 new citations are added each year.
Education Research Complete: Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties.
ERIC via EBSCO: Includes thousands of educational topic, journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Also searches the Professional Development Collection, a specialized collection of hundreds of full text articles.
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson): Provides access to full text articles, images, abstracts, and citations from over 4,000 journals contained in the following six Wilson full text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Reader's Guide, Social Sciences & Business.
Professional Development Collection: Provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators. Including children’s health and development to pedagogical theory and practice.
PsycArticles: A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
PsycINFO: Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.
Social Science Citation Index: Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.
TIPS FOR KEYWORD SEARCHING: You may find yourself stuck and unable to find appropriate articles. Sometimes simply plugging in alternate keywords makes all the difference. One way to find alternate keywords is to open an article that came up in your initial keyword search. Somewhere within the article citation will be a list called SUBJECT TERMS, AUTHOR SUPPLIED KEYWORDS, DESCRIPTORS or IDENTIFIERS. Choose a similar term and try another search. Thesaurus.com (www.thesaurus.com) is another place for generating alternate keywords.
ARTICLE REFERENCES CAN HELP YOU: Look at the bottom of articles for references. There may be other articles with titles that sound perfect for your research. Make a note of the title and the journal name. If that specific article is not available in the same database you can check the library page to see if Loyola subscribes to that journal.
HOW TO FIND A SPECIFIC JOURNAL TITLE: On the library homepage there is a link under FIND for Electronic Journals. You can search for the journal title there. If Loyola does not subscribe to the electronic journal you can still get a copy of the article through Interlibrary Loan.
Interlibrary Loan: Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that obtains materials that are not otherwise available in the Loyola University libraries. Materials necessary for study and research, such as books and theses, may be borrowed from other libraries.
FINDING BOOKS NEAR YOU: Pegasus is the on-line catalog for books, journal titles, a/v materials, e-books, dissertations and all other material owned by Loyola University Libraries. If you do not have access to the physical buildings to pick up your books you can still use the library page to find those titles in a library near you. Click the link to WorldCat Local from the library page. WorldCat Local searches the Loyola Library, but it also searches libraries worldwide and gives you the option to enter your zip code to find out if any libraries in your area have the book. If the book is housed at a University near you, call to find out what their policy is for non-students. Your local public library is another possible option for books as well.
REQUESTING LIBRARY MATERIALS: Cohort students should place all requests for books, book chapters, and articles using ILLiad. Select "Cohort" as your pickup location and provide the address where you would like your materials delivered. You can update this information at any time by logging in to your account and clicking "Change Contact Information." Articles and book chapters will typically be sent to you as PDFs and books will be sent by U.S. mail to your home or office, all free of charge. You will be notified if we are unable to fill your request. For more information, see the Services for Cohort Program page.
SELECTED SERVICES AVAILABLE FROM OFF-CAMPUS:
AskLive: Research Help 24/7: Virtual reference service available anytime, day or night. This service is provided to the students, staff, and faculty of Loyola University Chicago. Reference librarians from around the country are available to answer your questions about our resources.
Text-a-Librarian: Text the library at 66746 and start your question with ASKLUC.
RefWorks: A web-based bibliographic management tool. Import citations from online databases, organize and manage citations, automatically format citations within papers and create instant bibliographies in a variety of styles. Contact Kristina Schwoebel 312-915-8693 or firstname.lastname@example.org with questions.