Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Chemistry: Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Online sources

Oxford Reference Online: Oxford Refernece Online contains A Dictionary of Chemistry and Science, Technology, and Society.  To access these resources, click on the Oxford Reference Online link above, then clink on the "Science" link under the subject listings.

Print Sources

Dictionaries:

Hawley’s Condensed Chemical Dictionary, 15 ed. Cudahy Ref Desk QD5 .C5 2007

Facts on File Dictionary of Inorganic Chemistry. Cudahy Ref QD5 .F34 2004

Facts on File Dictionary of Organic Chemistry. Cudahy Ref QH360.2 .F27 2004

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Chemistry. Cudahy Ref QD5 .M36 2003

Penguin Dictionary of Chemistry, 3rd ed.  Cudahy Ref QD5 .M522 2003

Laboratory Health and Safety Dictionary. Cudahy Ref QD63.5 .G67 2001                                                                           


Encyclopedias:

Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry, vol. 1-3 Cudahy Ref QD451 .E539 2001

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry, vol. 1-4. Cudahy Ref QD4 .M33 1997Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry, vol. 1-5. Cudahy Ref QD39.3 .E46E53 1998

Encyclopedia of Analytical Science, vol. 1-10. Cudahy Ref QD71.5 .E53 1995

Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis, vol. 1-8. Cudahy Ref QD77 .E53 1995

Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry, vol. 1-8.  Cudahy Ref QD148 .E53 1994 


Property Data:

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 81st ed. Cudahy Ref QD65 .H3

Dictionary of Organic Compounds, 6th ed,, vol. 1-7. Cudahy Ref QD246 .D5 1996

Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds, vol. 1-7. Cudahy Ref QD257.7 .H36 1994

Handbooks and Tables in Science and Technology, 3rd. ed.  Cudahy Reference Q199 .P69 1994

Lange’s Handbook of Chemistry, 16th ed.  Chemistry Ref QD65 .L36 2005

Merck Index, 12th ed. Cudahy Ref Desk RS51 .M4

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 7th ed. Cudahy Ref TP151 .P45 1997 

Yaw's Chemical Properties Handbook : Physical, Thermodynamic, Environmental, Transport, Safety, and Health Related Properties for Organic and Inorganic Chemicals, Cudahy Ref TP200 .Y35 1999

 

Subject Guide

Stephen Macksey's picture
Stephen Macksey
Contact:
office phone: 773.508.2644