Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Chemistry: Selected Web Resources

Noteworthy Chemistry

Noteworthy Chemistry is a weekly feature produced by the American Chemical Society.

Loading

Central Sites for Chemistry Information

Chemistry Databases on the Web (Classified List): Produced by ChemBioGrid, the Chemical Informatics and Cyberinfrastructure Collaboratory at Indiana University, this site is a portal to an extensive array of chemical databases in all areas of chemistry. The list is classified and annotated.

Chemical Information Sources (CSI) Project List: The Chemical Information Sources project list is a guide to the many sources of reference materials available to chemists and chemistry students. CIS Wiki includes the following three reference sites:

1.) CRSD: Chemical Reference Sources Database: Chemical Reference Sources Database is a searchable database of books, databases, and other reference materials that might be found in or accessible through a chemistry or science library. Author/Editor, Title, or Keyword searches are possible.

2.) SIRCh: Selected Internet Resources for Chemistry: links to factual sources on the Internet where answers can be found to chemical questions. At the end of most CIS chapters there will be a link to a relevant SIRCh page.

3.) CCIMM: Clearinghouse for Chemical Information Instructional Materials: additional materials that are designed to instruct people in the use of chemical reference tools.

ChemWeb.com: ChemWeb provides access to the information chemists need to enhance their research, product development, self-development, education, and/or their businesses in Chemistry and related disciplines. Easy access to abstracts, papers, books, conferences, news, forums, and the Alchemist Newsletter makes ChemWeb useful to our members.  Membership is free and takes just a minute to register.  Members have exclusive content access and can participate in the many ChemWeb community features.

SIRCh: Selected Internet Resources for Chemistry: A comprehensive and well-organized site originally created by Gary Wiggins @ Indiana University, now a wiki.

Career Resources

American Chemical Society: Careers: This site lists not only current available positions, but provides extensive guidance for students pursuing a career in chemistry. The site also lists resources for continuing education for career development.

ChemJobs.netPart of the New Scientist Network. Search this database for hundreds of Science and Technology jobs. Registration is free and you can upload your resume, set up email job alerts, subscribe to RSS feeds and apply for Science and Technology jobs online.

NatureJobs.comA job board sponsored by the Nature Publishing Group.

Funding and Awards: ACS grant, award, scholarship, and internship opportunities.

 

Subject Guide

Stephen Macksey's picture
Stephen Macksey
Contact:
office phone: 773.508.2644