Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Chemistry: Property Data

Online Physical Property Data Resources

Chemistry Databases on the Web (Classified List): This site is a portal to an extensive array of chemical databases in all areas of chemistry. The first category - General (All Types of Compounds) - lists several freely available websites that provide property data.  Chemistry Databases on the Web is prduced by ChemBioGrid, the Chemical Informatics and Cyberinfrastructure Collaboratory at Indiana University.

ChemExper Chemical Directory: Searchable by registry number, molecular formula, chemical name or synonyms, and substructure, the ChemExper Chemical Directory displays information about chemicals (physical and chemical characteristics, structure, MSDS and more). The ChemExper Chemical Directory contains for now over 200,000 different chemicals, 10,000 MSDS and over 10,000 IR spectra.

ChemFinder.Com: ChemFinder.Com is a portal of free and subscription scientific databases.

ChemSpider logo

ChemSpider: ChemSpider links together compound information across the web, providing free text and structure search access to information on nearly 25 million chemical compounds. It is provided to the community by the Royal Society of Chemistry. 

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics: This comprehensive scientific reference tool contains an extensive array of the most frequently used data in science, including constants and units, conversion factors, physical constants, property data,symbols, terminology, and thermodynamic functions and relations.

IUPAC-NIST Solubility Database

NIST Chemistry WebBook

Sigma-Aldrich Catalog: Chemical catalog with spectra, physical properties, MSDS, and other information. Sigma-Aldrich is a commercial chemical producers catalog that contains a large amount of freely available information about thousands of common chemicals. Searchable by chemical name, chemical substance entries may include CAS registry numbers, NMR- and IR-spectra, boiling point, vapor pressure, safety information, core literature references and more.Allows search by name, molecular formula, CAS registry number, or keyword.

 

Print Physical Properties Data

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 81st ed. Cudahy Ref QD65 .H3 (This title is also available online: http://www.hbcpnetbase.com)

Dictionary of Organic Compounds, 6th ed,, vol. 1-7. Cudahy Ref QD246 .D5 1996

Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds, vol. 1-7. Cudahy Ref QD257.7 .H36 1994

Handbooks and Tables in Science and Technology, 3rd. ed.  Cudahy Reference Q199 .P69 1994

Lange’s Handbook of Chemistry, 16th ed.  Chemistry Ref QD65 .L36 2005

Merck Index, 12th ed. Cudahy Ref Desk RS51 .M4

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 7th ed. Cudahy Ref TP151 .P45 1997 

Yaw's Chemical Properties Handbook : Physical, Thermodynamic, Environmental, Transport, Safety, and Health Related Properties for Organic and Inorganic Chemicals, Cudahy Ref TP200 .Y35 1999

 

Subject Guide

Stephen Macksey's picture
Stephen Macksey
Contact:
office phone: 773.508.2644