Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Chemistry: Cambridge Structural Database

Acknowledgment

This guide was based on the excellent work of Erja Kajosalo, the chemistry librarian at MIT, who generously granted her permission for this adapted version.

Cambridge Structural Database

The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is a repository of small molecule crystal structures.The CSD System also comprises software for database access, structure visualisation and data analysis, and structural knowledge bases derived from the CSD.  The CSD is produced by the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC). 

Please contact Will Kent (wkent@luc.edu) for access to the CSD client software.

The Cambridge Structural Database client version includes software for:

  • ConQuest - search and information retrieval
  • Vista - numerical analysis
  • Mercury - structure visualisation
  • PreQuest - create an in-house database
  • IsoStar - Intermolecular Interactions
  • Mogul - Molecular geometry
  • SuperStar - Protein-Ligand Interactions predictions (Windows and Linux versions)
  • DASH - Structure Solution from Powder Diffration Data (Available only on Window)

WebCSD: The CCDC also produces WebCSD, a website offering a limited version of information found in the CSD database. However, WebCSD and CSD are two completely independant systems; for full access the CSD client must be downloaded.

NOTE: CSD does not store:

Contact the Chemistry Librarian with any questions.

Subject Guide

Stephen Macksey's picture
Stephen Macksey
Contact:
office phone: 773.508.2644