Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Economics: Government Resources

Government Websites

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
Provides links to papers on policy issues, news releases, speechs and reports.  Also includes links to the Federal Reserve banks.

Bureau of Public Debt
Sponsored by the U.S. Treasury Department. Provides information on the public debt, reasury bills, savings bonds and government securities market regulations.

Congressional Budget Office
CBO assists the House and Senate Budget Committees, and the Congress more generally, by preparing reports and analyses. In accordance with the CBO's mandate to provide objective and impartial analysis, CBO's reports contain no policy recommendations.

Economic Census
The Economic Census profiles the US economy every 5 years, from the national to the local level. 

Economic Indicators.gov
The Economics and Statistics Administration at the U.S. Department of Commerce uses Economic Indicators.gov to provide access to the daily releases of key economic indicators from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and the U.S. Census Bureau. 

Economic Statistics Briefing Room (White House)
Use this resource for data on current federal economic indicators. Subject areas include employment, income, international, money, output, prices, production, and transportation. 

FRASER® - Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
FRASER® is a project of the Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. The site provides historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents. 

Federal Reserve Bank Of Atlanta
The Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta is part of the central bank of the United States. It examines banking institutions in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, and parts of Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee—the states that make up the Sixth Federal Reserve District.

Federal Reserve Bank of Boston
The Federal Reserve Bank of Boston promotes sound growth and financial stability in New England and the nation. The Bank contributes to local communities, the region, and the nation through its high-quality research, regulatory oversight, and financial services, and through its commitment to leadership and innovation.

Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
The Chicago Fed serves the Seventh Federal Reserve District, an economically diverse region that includes all of Iowa and most of Illinois, Indiana, Michigan and Wisconsin. The Seventh District has a large national share of many important economic sectors.

Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland
The Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland serves the Fourth Federal Reserve District, which comprises Ohio, western Pennsylvania, eastern Kentucky, and the northern panhandle of West Virginia.

Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
The Dallas Fed serves the Eleventh Federal Reserve District, which consists of Texas, northern Louisiana and southern New Mexico.

Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City
The states that make up the Tenth Federal Reserve District are Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Wyoming, and portions of western Missouri and northern New Mexico.

Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
The Minneapolis Fed supervises and regulates bank holding companies and state-chartered member banks in the Ninth District, Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and northwestern Wisconsin.

Federal Reserve Bank of New York
The New York Fed has supervisory jurisdiction over the Second Federal Reserve District, which encompasses New York state, the 12 northern counties of New Jersey, Fairfield County in Connecticut, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Though it serves a geographically small area compared with those of other Federal Reserve Banks, the New York Fed is the largest Reserve Bank in terms of assets and volume of activity.

Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia
The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia is responsible for the Third District, which covers eastern Pennsylvania, southern New Jersey, and the state of Delaware.

Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond
The Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond is reponsible for the Fifth District, which serves the District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina and most of West Virginia.

Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco
The Twelfth Federal Reserve District includes the nine western states—Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington—Guam, American Samoa, and the Northern Mariana Islands.

Federal Trade Commission
The Federal Trade Commission is the  only federal agency with both consumer protection and competition jurisdiction in broad sectors of the economy.  It develops policy and research tools through hearings, workshops, and conferences; and creates practical and plain-language educational programs for consumers and businesses in a global marketplace with constantly changing technologies.

Joint Economic Committee Report
The JEC is  responsible for reporting the current economic condition of the United States and for making suggestions for improvement to the economy.  The site contains studies on taxation, economic performance, federal spending and more.

National Center of Environmental Economics
NCEE analyzes relationships between the economy, environmental health, and environmental pollution control.

USA.gov
As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. USA.gov also serves as the catalyst for a growing electronic government.

U.S Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics

U.S. Census Bureau 
The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

U.S. Department of Justice, Antitrust Division
The mission of the Antitrust Division has been to promote and protect the competitive process — and the American economy — through the enforcement of the antitrust laws.

U.S. Department of Treasury
The Treasury Department is the executive agency responsible for promoting economic prosperity and ensuring the financial security of the United States.

Subject Guide

Gabrielle (Abby) Annala, MBA - MLIS's picture
Gabrielle (Abby) Annala, MBA - MLIS
Contact:
Lewis Library
25 E. Pearson, Room 620
Chicago, IL 60611
gannala@luc.edu
312-915-6948
Website / Blog Page