Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Pastoral Studies: Christian Websites

Christianity

Christian Classic Ethereal Library
  Classic Christian books in electronic format believed to be in the public domain unless otherwise specified. 
 
  Early Church Fathers
  Ante-Nicene Fathers,Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers Series I, and Post Nicene Fathers Series II. 
 
  Ecclesiastical Calendar Calculations
  Calculation of the ecclesiastical calendar by Marcos J. Montes with related links. 
 
  Hartford Institute for Religious Research
  "We are committed to providing research based information on the social scientific study of religion in a way that makes this research usable for religious leaders and the general public." Includes official denominational web sites. 
 
  Librarian's Index to the Internet
  Fourteen other churches besides Catholic are identified. 
 
  Orthodox Christian Resources
  Liturgy, prayers, news and resources about Orthodox Christians. 
 
  Quaker Corner
  A repository of information and research on the Quakers. 
 
  Religion Online
  Religion Online is designed to assist professors, scholars and general "seekers" who are interested in exploring religious issues. 
 
  World Council of Churches
 

Web site of the World Council of Churches giving access to important documents in many different languages. 

  The Catholic Thing
 

An original column with new entries daily that provides fresh and penetrating insight into the current situation along with other commentary, news, analysis, and – yes – even humor.

General Resources

ARDA (Association of Religious Data Archives)
ARDA allows you to interactively explore the highest quality data on American and international religion using online features for generating national profiles, maps, church membership overviews, denominational heritage trees, tables, charts, and other summary reports. Over 350 data files are available for online preview and most can be downloaded for additional research

 

ArtPromote View a collection of over 8,580 images related to Christianity including Biblical Figures, Christian Masterpieces, Vatican Museums collections and more

 

Center on Religion and Democracy
This is the web page of a nonpartisan research center at the Univ. of Virginia. It is committed to addressing the question of whether American democracy can be "properly woven with the threads of new cultures, languages, backgrounds, interests and ideas."  

 

Encyberpedia : Religion and Philosophy
A reference source still under construction but that has some good links

 

Internet Sacred Text Archive

"This site is a freely available non-profit archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, in some cases, in the original language." 

 

  Religious Studies Electronic Journals
"This site is the single best listing of electronic journals on world religions on the Web." 
  Research in Ministry (RIM)
Searchable database of theses and dissertations from schools of theology and seminaries. 
  Sacred Sites
Maintained by Martin Gray who is an anthropologist and photographer specializing in the study of sacred sites and pilgrimage traditions around the world. 
  Theology Resources: Systematic Theology
Well organized links developed by Elizabeth T. Knuth, College of St. Benedict, St. John's University, Collegeville, MN. 

 

 Virtual Religion Index
This site is designed to advance research in matters of religion. As a global forum that may be accessed instantaneously anywhere, the internet promises to surpass the impact of the printing press on the study of religion.  
  Wabash Center for Teaching & Learning
Excellent academic site, well organized for teaching and learning in Theology and Religion. 
  World Religions
WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources. Provides limited area search engines and searchable databases in religions of the world. 
  Yale Divinity Digital Image & Text Library
The Yale Divinity Digital Image and Text Library is a faculty-library initiative that provides digital resources for teaching and research. You can use a form to search the whole database of images and texts or you can restrict your searches to two subsets.  

Catholic Related Websites

 

 American Catholic Website

  A Roman Catholic website from the Franciscans. Features include, Catholic news, saint of the day, question of the day, minute meditations and movie reviews. 
 
  Archdiocese of Chicago
  News and facts about the Archdiocese. 
 
  Australian Catholic Bishops Conference
  Information about the Catholic Church in Australia as well as the Bishops Conference. 
 
  Catholic Community
  "A world-wide Catholic Search Engine." 
 
  Catholic Information Network
  Catholic Information Network (CIN) offers a free exchange of news, information and discussion, and is not an official organ of the Catholic Church. Searchable by keyword. 
 
  Catholic Network of Volunteer Service
  Network to connect full-time volunteers with Christian member programs. 
 
  Catholic Online
  "The mission of Catholic Online is to serve as a center for the exchange of information for Catholics and all people of God." 
 
  Center of Concern
  The Center has been "promoting global justice and peace since 1971." Good links to Catholic social teaching. 
 
  Christus Rex
  This site comes from the Vatican, is continuously updated and includes the English weekly edition of "L'Osservatore Romano." 
 
  Education for Justice
  The web site of the Education for Justice Project at the Center of Concern, Washington DC. 
 
  Liturgical Calendars
  "These calendars reflect celebrations in the Roman Catholic Diocese of Springfield in Illinois (USA)." 
 
  Mary Page
  This site is maintained by The Marian Library/International Marian Research Institute at the University of Dayton in Ohio. This Institute is an international center of research and study on the role of Mary in Christian life. 
 
  New Advent
  Features include daily news from several sources; Catholic Encyclopedia, 1908 edition; Summa Theologica of Thomas Aquinas; and writings of the Church Fathers. 
 
  Pax Christi USA
  Pax Christi USA is the national Catholic peace movement. The 14,000+ members work for the transformation of society through nonviolence and advocate peacemaking as a priority in the Catholic Church in the United States. 
 
  Religious Orders
  Links to many religious orders of men and women.