Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Pastoral Studies: Reference Works in Cudahy Library


Biographical Dictionary of Christian Theologians. Ref BR 95 B575 2000


A Dictionary of Asian Mythology. Ref BL1005 .L46 2001


The Dictionary of Historical Theology. Ref BT21.2 .D53 2000


Dictionary of Popes and the Papacy. Ref BX 955.3 .L4913 2001


Dictionary of Third World Theologies. Ref BR95 .D486 2000


Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible. Ref BS 440 .E44 2000


Encyclopedic Dictionary of Cults, Sects, and World ReligionsRef BL31 .N53 2006



REFERENCE BOOKS -- indexes, guides, encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, bibliographies and other specialized sources are useful in beginning research.


Recent Reference Works



Archaeological Encyclopedia of the Holy Land. Ref DS 111 .A2 A73 2001


The Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions. Ref BL 2462.5 .E53 2001


Encyclopedia of Catholic Social Thought, Social Science, and Social Policy. Ref BX 1753 .E595 2007


Encyclopedia of Native American Religions. Ref E 98 .R3 H73 2000


Encyclopedia of Irish Spirituality. Ref BL980 .I7 J47 2000


Encyclopedia of Religion and War. Ref BL 80.3 .E53 2004


Encyclopedia of Religious Freedom.  Ref BV741 .E47 2003


Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America. 3 volumes Ref BL458 .E52 2006

Homosexuality and Religion : An Encyclopedia. Ref BL65 .H64 H63 2007

Religious Holidays and Calendars : An Encyclopedic Handbook.  Ref CE6 .K45 2004

The Religious Traditions of Asia : Religion, History, and Culture. Ref BL1032 .R47 2002

RoutledgeCurzon Encyclopedia of Confucianism. Ref BL1840 .R68 2003

World Christian Encyclopedia : A Comparative Survey of Churches and Religions in the Modern World. 2 vols. Ref BR157 .W67 2001


Library services


Reference & Instruction

The librarians are available to give access to the many resources in the libraries.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD)

Materials necessary for study and research, such as books and theses, may be borrowed from other libraries. Photocopies of periodical articles may also be acquired.