Research Guides: Global Studies: Global Connections

News and Newspapers

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, web-only content from U.S. and international news sources. Coverage: 1978 - present.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and law reviews. Coverage: 1790 - present.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites. Coverage: 1980 - present.
Includes international, national, and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
Alternative Press Index 1991-Present This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of alternative sources, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering international and interdisciplinary subjects. Coverage: 1991-present.

Business and Human Rights Centre
We track the human rights policy and performance of over 6000 companies in over 180 countries, making information publicly available. We engage with companies and governments to urge them to share information publicly.

MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Company profiles, industry reports, and case studies. Also includes city and country reports using PEST/PESTLE standard analysis framework.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, marketing, economics from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more. Coverage: 1820 - present.
ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI Inform) This link opens in a new window
Articles from trade journals and magazines, scholarly journals, and general interest magazines covering accounting, advertising, business, company information, industry Information, management, marketing, real estate, economics, finance, human resources, and international business. Coverage: 1923 - present.

Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Access to a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.
Provided by the Terry Fund.

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities
International Labour Organization Working Conditions Page
The ILO monitors trends and developments regarding working time, work organisation, and work-life balance around the world and analyses key and emerging issues, in order to provide ILO constituents and policymakers with practical information and research-based policy advice grounded in state-of-the-art knowledge.
Worldbank Open Data Site
World Bank Open Data: free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe
World Bank eLibrary
eLibrary covers a broad range of topics related to economic development and poverty reduction.
World Economic Outlook Database
From the International Monetary Fund, the WEO allows the tracking of data for countries around the world.
United States Trade Representative
USTR has principal responsibility for administering U.S. trade agreements. This involves monitoring our trading partners' implementation of trade agreements with the United States, enforcing America's rights under those agreements, and negotiating and signing trade agreements that advance the President's trade policy.