Newspapers, Periodicals, and Alternative Media Outlets
- Al JazeeraThe English language Web site for the Arabic news and current affairs satellite TV channel with the same name.
- AllAfrica.comSimilar in purpose to MidEast Wire (see below), AllAfrica.com is a distributor of news from specifically African press, with stories posted daily in English and French language text.
- Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new windowIndexes 700 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines presenting alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.
- Alternative Press Index 1991-Present This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index of alternative sources, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering international and interdisciplinary subjects. Coverage: 1991-present.
- American Periodical Series I, II & III, 1741 - 1900Covering more than 150 years of American magazine journalism, the more than 1,000 periodicals in these three collections provide the materials necessary to study trends in the United States from 1741 to 1900.
- Black Studies CenterIncludes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, and historical newspaper articles. Collections include Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals, historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
- Chicago Defender Historical, 1910 - 1975The Chicago Defender is an African-American-interest newspaper important for historical research on civil rights, segregation, migration to the industrial states, anti-lynching legislation, and radical sentiments of the late 1960s
- Chicago Sun-Times, 1986 - PresentComplete full-text content from one of Chicago's two major, general interest newspapers. Paid advertisements are excluded.
- Chicago Tribune Historical, 1849 - 1986Full-text and full-image articles published in the Chicago Tribune for the dates listed.
- Chicago Tribune, 1985 - PresentComplete full-text content from one of Chicago's two major, general interest newspapers. Paid advertisements are excluded.
- Illinois NewspapersFull-text electronic access to over 90 regional daily and weekly newspapers across Illinois. Paid advertisements are not included.
- Mideast WireFull-text English-translated newspaper content from all 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab media Diaspora.
- New York Times, 1850 - 2001Full-text access to the New York Times for the dates listed. Full page images of the printed edition are available.
- New York Times, 2000 - PresentFull-text edition of the New York Times from 2000 forward. See NYT Historical for earlier content. Paid advertisements are not included.
- Palmer's Index to The TimesSearchable electronic index to The Times (of London) from 1790-1905.
News
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull-text newspapers, magazines, web-only content from U.S. and international news sources. Coverage: 1978 - present.
- Dow Jones/FactivaIncludes over 6,000 newspapers and trade journals. Company, industry, country and market research reports.
- Gale Database of Publications and Broadcast MediaThis directory provides information on some 52,000 publications and over 12,400 radio and television stations and cable TV companies. This is NOT a database for content searching but rather a directory.
- Newspaper SourceProvides full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX, MSNBC, NPR, and other mainstream Western media sources.
