Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Social Work Students at Carthage College: Home

Guide to resources and research for students attending the Social Work program located at Carthage College in Kenosha Wisconsin.

Social Work Definition

"The social work profession promotes social change, problem solving in human relationships and the empowerment and liberation of people to enhance well-being. Utilising theories of human behaviour and social systems, social work intervenes at the points where people interact with their environments. Principles of human rights and social justice are fundamental to social work."

International Federation of Social Workers 2000.

  AudioVisual

Counseling and Therapy in Video Provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling with 400 hours and more than 330 videos upon completion.

These might also be helpful, depending on the topic:

American History in Video   The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Ethnographic Video Online Provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion.

News from the NASW

Loading

Online Reference Materials

  • AAFP Conditions A to Z - A patient-information tool that's been written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). Common conditions, treatments and health tips are presented concisely and informatively. 
  • American National Biography - offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
  • Cabell's Directories - in Education, Psychology & Business are exhaustive listings necessary to assist the professional researcher and writer. Entries include: manuscript guidelines, acceptance rating, review type, no. of reviewers and type of readership
  • Cambridge Collection Online Full-text of over 200 Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; and Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Includes over 2,200 essays on these topics.
  • Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography - provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists.
  • Consumer Health Complete - provides consumer-oriented health content in all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine
  • CQ Almanac - arranged in topical chapter format, providing an overview of the year's issues and political action. Navigate through 60 years of congressional coverage, browse by subject, decade or by a particular year's table of contents.
  • Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-IC-TR - The standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States. It is intended to be applicable in a wide array of contexts and used by clinicians and researchers of many different orientations.
  • Drugs.com - The publishers of PDR now provide the same information online for free at Drugs.com. This site includes an A-Z list of drugs, side effects, drug interaction reports and various medical reference tools to aid in searching.
  • eHRAF World Cultures - Contains more than a quarter of a million pages of full-text descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Indexed by culture and subject.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online - Consists of a fully searchable and browsable, authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, and articles not found in the print Britannica.
  • Encyclopedia Judaica - This essential resource provides an overview of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion.
  • Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice - Contains topics, concepts, and ideas which shaped the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice. Includes short biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
  • Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S. (46th ed.) and Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations. (45th ed.) Both reference titles are through the Gale Directory Library.
  • Encyclopedia of Bioethics - Provides topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment. Researchers can consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
  • Encyclopedia of Chicago - a dynamic and unprecedented metropolitan history. Includes thousands of historical resources-including articles, photos, maps, broadsides and newspapers-related to Chicago's colorful and complex history.
  • Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society - presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present.
  • Encyclopedia of Counseling - provides a comprehensive overview of the theories, models, techniques, and challenges involved in professional counseling.
  • Encyclopedia of Human Relationships - offers "an interdisciplinary view of all types of human associations —- friends, lovers, spouses, roommates, coworkers, teammates, parents and children, cousins, siblings, acquaintances, neighbors, business associates," etc.
  • Encyclopedia of Human Rights - offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. It includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.
  • Encyclopedia of Islam - Details Islamic religion, life and culture across the globe. The geographical and temporal scope includes the early Islamic Empire, Ottoman Empire, and contemporary Islamic regions and nations including Central Asia, Iran, and Indonesia.
  • Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World - looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, 2nd ed. - A comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
  • Encyclopedia of Population- encompasses the large-scale changes in emphasis and research directions in population studies during the last 20 years, some topics covered include: rapid demographic expansion in poor countries; low fertility rates, etc.
  • Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy - covers the major psychotherapies currently in practice as well as the classical approaches that laid the foundation for the various contemporary treatment approaches.
  • Encyclopedia of Race and Racism - examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Includes biographies of significant theorists, political & social leaders and notorious racists.
  • Encyclopedia of Religion - provides a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
  • Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender - addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.
  • Encyclopedia of Social Measurement  - captures the data, techniques, theories, designs, applications, histories, and implications of assigning numerical values to social phenomena.
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia - provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health - provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America - contains 8,000 to 12,000 word essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns.
  • Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) - Bibliography on Latin America. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Over 5,000 entries annually
  • Historical Statistics of the United States - designed to give users a variety of means to search and navigate the vast amount of data. Users can create custom tables; merge columns from multiple tables to create custom tables, which can also be downloaded, printed, or graphed.
  • Institute for Research on Poverty -  a center for interdisciplinary research into the causes and consequences of poverty and social inequality in the United States. It has a particular interest in poverty and family welfare in the Midwest 
  • International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family - adopts an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency, and commuter marriages.
  • International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 2nd ed. - Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
  • Learning and Memory - an overview of the full range of current knowledge about learning and memory 
  • National Association Of Social Workers  http://www.naswdc.org/ Provides information about NASW, the Code of Ethics, state NASW chapters, professional social work credentials, and publications. Gives views on many issues relevant to social work practice, including legislation. 
  • National Association of Social Workers. Illinois Chapter  http://www.naswil.org/index.htm
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States  -
    Over 900 A-to-Z articles of the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Social Work - The 20th edition covers demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma & disaster. 
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World - provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and political topics. 
  • Social Work Access Network  http://cosw.sc.edu/swan/
    SWAN is a virtual community dedicated to promoting technology as an instructional enhancement tool across the social work curriculum. It is owned, administered, and maintained by the College of Social Work at the University of South Carolina.   
  • Stedman's Medical Dictionary - comprehensive dictionary of medical words and phrases is intended for use by health-care consumers, students, and professionals as well as anyone who wants to keep up with the burgeoning new terminology found in today's medical news
  • Women & Politics Around the World - These volumes fill a gap in existing literature on women and politics by presenting a unique cross-national perspective, as well as by providing analysis of issues that cross borders and other traditional boundaries used in political anaylsis.
  • Women and Social Movements Scholar's Edition - Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible.

Subject Guide

Susan Wardzala's picture
Susan Wardzala
Contact:
Social Work / Criminal Justice Librarian
Lewis Library
Loyola Libraries
25 E Pearson #616
Chicago, IL 60611
312-915-6635
swardza@luc.edu
LYNC: swardza
Website / Blog Page

Carthage Library Contact

Kathy Myers
User Services Supervisor and Student Employee Coordinator
Hedberg Library
262-551-5907
kmyers@carthage.edu

LOCL News

Loading