Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Social Work Students at Carthage College: Databases for Article Search

Most Used SW Indexes

  • Academic Search Premier - a good basic index to journal articles in wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural issues. Academic Search Premier contains full text for more than 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,250 journals in the collection. 
  •  PsychInfo - An abstract database which contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and descriptive information on a wide variety of scholarly publications (journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and others) in the behavioral and social sciences.  Covers psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.   98% of the database is  peer reviewed journals.  From the American Psychological Association. 
  • Social Service Abstracts - provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. 1979-present 
  • Social Work Abstracts - Social Work Abstracts database contains more than  400 U.S. and international journals, spanning 1977 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. Published by the National Association of Social Workers.  
  •  Sociological Abstracts - SA abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years, 1952-1962, have been added to the database.  Many of the entries include the works cited with links to the cited or citing article citations.

Other Helpful Indexes

Below are other indexes you are might use in general Social Work research.  This depends on your topic and most topics will require you to use indexes in other subject areas as you get deeper into the literature.  Please ask at the library if you  have questions.

  • ArticleFirst - index to tems listed on the table of contents pages of individual issues of nearly 13,000 journals in the areas of business, the humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social sciences and technology.  Contains no full-text itself, but includes links to text in other products such as JSTOR.  
  • Child Development & Adolescent Studies   Current and historical literature related to the growth and development of children through the age of 21. Includes Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography (1927-2001) plus new coverage of Child Rights and welfare issues.
  • Dissertations and Theses     Contains over 2.3 million dissertations and theses completed from around the world. Citations are available dating from 1861, with over 60,000 new citations added each year.
  • Education Complete  Indexes more than 550 titles on education--including primary, secondary, and university-level topics.
  • ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)   ERIC provides free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text.
  • ERIC (via EBSCO) Access to thousands of educational topics. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Also searches the Professional Development Collection.
  • Periodicals Abstracts - an index of more than 2,000 general and academic journals, about half of which are available with full text.  The journals in this collection cover business, culture, current affairs, economics, literature, religion, psychology, history, sociology, and women's studies.  It includes articles and transcripts from a wide variety of popular interest magazines and television and radio programs. !987-present 

Subject Guide

Susan Wardzala's picture
Susan Wardzala
Contact:
Social Work / Criminal Justice Librarian
Lewis Library
Loyola Libraries
25 E Pearson #616
Chicago, IL 60611
312-915-6635
swardza@luc.edu
LYNC: swardza
Website / Blog Page