Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Social Work Students at Carthage College: Databases for Book Search

Other Catalogs

  • Hedberg Library Catalog - Carthage College Library Catalog. 
  • Pegasus - Find books, journal titles, a/v materials, e-books, dissertations and all materials owned by Loyola Libraries
  • Worldcat Local - new interface providing access to books, articles, CDs/DVDs/Media, print and online journals, and other materials, both at Loyola Chicago Libraries and libraries around the world.

Books not online or at  Carthage may be easily requested by e-mail to ill@carthage.edu or by following the instructions at  http://www.carthage.edu/ais/library/interlibraryloan.htm.

  • Books in Print - Over 6 million in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios, and videos from North American publishers, distributors and wholesalers. Full-text book reviews from sources including Choice, Kirkus, Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, and School Library Journal.
  • Center for Research Libraries (CRL) -  is a consortium of North American universities, colleges and independent research libraries to which Loyola University Chicago belongs. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers journals, documents, archives and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching. These resources are then made available to member institutions cooperatively, through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery. 

 

Liscenced Scholarly Book Collections

  • Cambridge Collections Online - Full-text of over 200 Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; and Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Includes over 2,200 essays on these topics.
  • Cambridge Histories Online   - Historical reference compendium of renowned texts from the Cambridge Histories series, comprising over 250 volumes published since 1960. Covers political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
  • Humanities E-Book Project - The Humanities E-book Project (formerly the History E-book project), was created by the American Council of Learned Societies.
  • NetLibrary   -  An interdisciplinary selection of e-books selected by the Loyola University Libraries. You must be connected to the Loyola campus network to create your account.
  • Oxford Scholarship Online  - The complete text of over 1,100 Oxford Press titles in the subject areas of Philosophy, Religion, Political Science, and Economics and Finance. New titles are added each month
  • PsycBooks   -  Full-text of over 1400 scholarly books and over 22,000 chapters published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes the Oxford Press Encyclopedia of Psychology, and 50 classic books in psychology dating from the early 19th century.
  • Safari Tech Books Online  - Safari Tech Books Online is a ready-reference resource covering certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linus/Unix, Web development, Windows, XML, and more technologies. Over 7,330 titles are avaliable in their complete full text.

Free Book Collections on the Web

  • eScholarship Editions  Provides free access to over 400 titles from the University of California Press.
  • Google Book Search  Google has digitized millions of books from library collections, including hundreds of books related to Old English literature, with various translations and editions. The search results provide book reference pages that often include reviews, citations,
  • Project Gutenberg e-book collection produced by Columbia University Press in collaboration with the American Historical Association. The nine titles in the database (as of mid-November 2003) and the dozen or so being added were selected via the same rigorous peer-review process.
  •  HathiTrust: A Shared Digital Repository  As a digital repository for the nation’s great research libraries, HathiTrust (listen to pronunciation) brings together the immense collections of partner institutions. 
  • Europeana  - gives multilingual access to two million digitized books and other items of cultural and historical significance held in over 1,000 institutions in the 27 EU states.

Subject Guide

Susan Wardzala's picture
Susan Wardzala
Contact:
Social Work / Criminal Justice Librarian
Lewis Library
Loyola Libraries
25 E Pearson #616
Chicago, IL 60611
312-915-6635
swardza@luc.edu
LYNC: swardza
Website / Blog Page