Historical Statistics of the United States - Designed to give users a variety of means to search and navigate the vast amount of data. Users can create custom tables; merge columns from multiple tables to create custom tables, which can also be downloaded, printed, or graphed.

Bureau of Prisons, National Institute of Corrections - Focus is on unpublished, operationally-oriented materials developed by correctional agencies.

Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) - Providing national security intelligence to senior US policymakers. Collects, analyzes, and disseminates intelligence information to top US government officials. Publications include: 

·          Center for the Study of Intelligence

·          Heroin Movement Worldwide

·          Notification and Federal Employee Anti-discrimination and Retaliation Act of 2002 (No FEAR Act) Data

·          World Factbook

DNA Initiative - Funding, training and assistance to ensure that forensic DNA reaches its full potential to solve crimes, protect the innocent and identify missing persons. Includes statistics related to forensic DNA

 Federal Bureau of Investigation - Protects and defends against terrorist and foreign intelligence threats, upholds and enforces the criminal laws of the United States, and provides leadership and criminal justice services to federal, state, municipal, and international agencies and partners. Includes access to Reports & Publications and Uniform Crime Reports.

FedStats - Statistics of general public interest compiled by the United States Federal Government. Use the A to Z Topics index to access the crime statistics.

Justice Research and Statistics Association -  a national nonprofit organization of state Statistical Analysis Center (SAC) directors, researchers, and practitioners throughout government, academia, and criminal justice organizations dedicated to policy-orientated research and analysis. JRSA publishes a wide variety of research and analytical reports, most of which are available for free downloading.

National Institute of Corrections (NIC) - an agency within the U.S. Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons. Provides training, technical assistance, information services, and policy/program development assistance to federal, state, and local corrections agencies. Includes publications in their library such as:  Corrections Mental Health and reports by topic.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) - One of the largest criminal and juvenile justice libraries and databases in the world, the NCJRS Abstracts Database. The collection, with holdings from the early 1970s to the present, contains more than 210,000 publications, reports, articles, and audiovisual products from the United States and around the world. These resources include statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional hearing transcripts, and training materials.  Use the Topical Index to find statistics on a variety of topics.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics -  brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Since 1973, the project has been located at the University at Albany, School of Criminal Justice, and compiled and managed by staff at the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center in Albany, New York.

US Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) -  Protects our communities from violent criminals, criminal organizations, the illegal use and trafficking of firearms, the illegal use and storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and the illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco products.  Includes statistics on these areas.

US Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) - To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. Includes a number of Data Collections, like (but not limited to):

• Annual Probation Survey and Annual Parole Survey
• Annual Survey of Jails
• Census of Publicly Funded Forensic Crime Laboratories
• National Corrections Reporting Program - collects administrative data annually on prison admissions and releases and on parole entries and discharges in participating jurisdictions. Demographic information, conviction offenses, sentence length, minimum time to be served, credited jail time, type of admission, type of release, and time served are collected from individual prisoner records. The collection began in 1983 and is conducted annually. Beginning in 1999, some jurisdictions also began providing a stock file for all inmates held at yearend. About 41 states provide various types of data for this collection.
• National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) 

US Courts - Federal Courts - federal courts may decide cases that involve the United States government, the United States Constitution or federal laws, or controversies between states or between the United States and foreign governments. Provides statistical data on the business of the federal judiciary.

US Department of Justice - To enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime; to seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior; and to ensure fair and impartial administration of justice for all Americans. Includes reports and publications on a  number of topics.

Bureau of Justice Assistance - includes National Youth Gang Survey Analysis - analysis and findings from the ongoing National Youth Gang Surveys of law enforcement. Numerous charts and descriptions are provided as a resource for understanding gang problems

US Drug Enforcement Administration - to enforce the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States and bring to the criminal and civil justice system of the United States, or any other competent jurisdiction, those organizations and principal members of organizations, involved in the growing, manufacture, or distribution of controlled substances appearing in or destined for illicit traffic in the United States. Includes statistics, studies and reports.

US Sentencing Commission - an independent agency in the judicial branch of government. Its principal purposes are: (1) to establish sentencing policies and practices for the federal courts, including guidelines to be consulted in sentencing; (2) to advise and assist Congress and the executive branch in the development of effective and efficient crime policy; and (3) to collect, analyze, research, and distribute a broad array of information on federal crime and sentencing issues.  Includes Annual Reports and  Sourcebooks of Federal Sentencing Statistics. Also see the publications