What is an encyclopedia? – A work
containing information on all subjects or limited to a special field or
subject, arranged in systematic (usually alphabetical), order. Encyclopedias may be in one volume, in which
case very brief information will be given, or they may be in forty or more
volumes in which the various matters will be comprehensive, usually written by
experts, and sometimes containing bibliographies and illustrations. Encyclopedias may be general (Encyclopedia Americana)
or specialized, usually by subject (Encyclopedia of Population) or
discipline (Encyclopedia of Social Work).
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Cudahy Ref AE5 .E363 2005 (15th ed.) (Print)
The online encyclopedia is fully searchable and browsable, with authoritative references. The online version contains articles not found in the print Britannica.
Encyclopedia of Associations
IC Ref AS22 .E65 ; Lewis Ref AS22 .E65 (Print)
Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S. (46th ed.) and Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations. (45th ed.) Both reference titles are through the Gale Directory Library.
Encyclopedia of Chicago
Cudahy Ref F548.3 .E53 2004 ; Lewis Ref Chicago Section F548.3 .E53 2004 (Print)
The Encyclopedia of Chicago is a dynamic and unprecedented metropolitan history. Includes thousands of historical resources-including articles, photos, maps, broadsides and newspapers-related to Chicago's colorful and complex history.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Choose 'title list' at the top of the screen to see which sources you are searching.
Oxford Reference Online
Over 100 reference titles covering a broad range of subjects: everything from General Reference, Language and Quotations to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Reference Universe not only provides data about reference works but searches deeply into the indexes of more than 20,000 electronic and print reference works.
This e-book collection contains over 60 of Sage's authoritative and award-winning encyclopedias. Browse by either the Readers Guide, Entries, A to Z listing or by Index.