Contains topics, concepts, and ideas which shaped the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice. Includes short biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
Cudahy Ref QH 332 .E52 1995 ; Lewis Ref QH332 .E52 2004 (Print) Provides topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment. Researchers can consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
Cudahy Ref QH360.2 .O83 2002 (Print) Entries by leading experts survey essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, and discuss both the history of the field and current controversies.
Cudahy Ref GE149 .E47 2002 (Print) Encompassing tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, and permafrost melt, the 300 articles in this unique and wide-ranging encyclopedia investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth.
Lewis Ref BP40 .E525 2004 (Print) This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
Lewis Ref HB871 .E538 2003 (Print) Designed to encompass the large-scale changes in emphasis and research directions in population studies during the last 20 years, some topics covered include: rapid demographic expansion in poor countries; low fertility rates, etc.
This reference tool examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Includes biographies of significant theorists, political & social leaders and notorious racists.
This reference tool addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.
Cudahy Ref QA 276.14 .E5 1982 (Print) Corresponds to 16 volumes of the print reference. Provides information about statistical theory and its applications in various scientific fields. New updates cover topics from computer technology to genetics.
The goal of EWIC is to survey all facets of life (society, economy, politics, religion, the arts, popular culture, sports, health, science, medicine, environment, and so forth) of women in these societies.
Contains 8,000 to 12,000 word essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns.
Cudahy Ref P29 .I58 2003 (Print) Covers historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines.
Lewis Ref HQ9 .E52 2003 (Print) Adopts an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency, and commuter marriages.
Cudahy Ref H 40 .A2 I5 (Print) Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of glbal topics in the social sciences.
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict.
Lewis Ref HC15 .O94 2003 (Print) Articles range from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to overarching, 8,000-word essays on markets, industries, and labor. With coverage ranging from accounting and advertising to zoning and zoos.
Cudahy Ref E184 .S75 O97 2005 (Print) Over 900 A-to-Z articles of the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
The definitive reference work for women in history, with over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.