Research Guides: Classical Studies: Primary Source Collections

Primary Sources: Text and Document Collections

Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature This link opens in a new window
Contains Latin literature written in Celtic Europe between 400 and 1200.

Attalus
Provides access to texts from Greek and Roman history during the period 323 to 30 BCE.
Chicago Homer
Provides Homeric texts in translation.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
Provides clean digital texts on ancient history and civilizations.

Jacoby Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of fragments and testimonia of Greek historians, and other ancient authors on genealogy, mythography, chronography (political-military history), horography, ethnography, biography, and geography.
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
Includes works written from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronius, 240 BCE) through to the Second Vatican Council (1962-65).
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Provides Greek and Latin classical texts with English translations.

Perseus Digital Library
Contains a collection of resources related to Greco-Roman history, literature, and culture.
Suda Online
Provides access to this Byzantine Greek historical encyclopedia of the ancient Mediterranean world.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
Includes texts in Greek from the time of the poet Homer in the 8th century BCE to the fall of the Byzantine Empire in 1453.
USERS MUST REGISTER FIRST IN ORDER TO ACCESS TLG FULL CORPUS.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Includes images of fine art and architecture collected in international museums.

Classical Art Research Centre
Contains ancient art and pottery images.
Maps for Students
Contains a downloadable collection of maps of the ancient world.

papyri.info
Provides a variety of papyrological resources with a customized search engine.
Papyrus Carlsberg Collection
Inventories the papyri at the University of Copenhagen; provides a bibliography and concordance.
POxy
Inventories the Oxyrhynchus Papyri Collection at Oxford University.
Searchable Greek Inscriptions
Facilitates the study of Greek epigraphy.

Magna Graecia Coins
Contains images of coins taken from Greek archaeological sites in Sicily and southern Italy.
Princeton Numismatic Collection
Contains images of Greco-Roman coins.

Diotima
Contains bibliographies. texts, and images related to gender studies in classical antiquity.