Cudahy Ref PN1998 .A57 ; Lewis Ref PN1998 .A57 (Print) The AFI Catalog strives to be comprehensive in its coverage of American films. Included is film production information, credits and cast lists, song and music information and detailed plot summaries. 1893-1970,2000 - 2003
Cudahy Ref AE5 .E363 2005 (15th ed.) (Print) The online encyclopedia is fully searchable and browsable, with authoritative references. The online version contains articles not found in the print Britannica.
Contains topics, concepts, and ideas which shaped the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice. Includes short biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
Cudahy Ref AS22 .E65 ; Lewis Ref AS22 .E65 (Print) Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S. (46th ed.) and Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations. (45th ed.) Both reference titles are through the Gale Directory Library.
Cudahy Ref QH 332 .E52 1995 ; Lewis Ref QH332 .E52 2004 (Print) Provides topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment. Researchers can consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
The Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry addresses the fundamental discipline of biological chemistry underlying virtually all of the life sciences. Includes related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics.
Cudahy Ref RA 409 .E53 1998 (Print) Offers the definitive reference to support the development and use of statistical methods for addressing the problems and critical issues that confront scientists, practitioners and policy makers engaged in the life and medical sciences.
Cudahy Ref F548.3 .E53 2004 ; Lewis Ref Chicago Section F548.3 .E53 2004 (Print) The Encyclopedia of Chicago is a dynamic and unprecedented metropolitan history. Includes thousands of historical resources-including articles, photos, maps, broadsides and newspapers-related to Chicago's colorful and complex history.
Cudahy Ref QH360.2 .O83 2002 (Print) Entries by leading experts survey essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, and discuss both the history of the field and current controversies.
Cudahy Ref GE149 .E47 2002 (Print) Encompassing tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, and permafrost melt, the 300 articles in this unique and wide-ranging encyclopedia investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth.
Lewis Ref BP40 .E525 2004 (Print) This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
Covers the range of life sciences research. It highlights structures, processes, methods, systems and applications. Includes 6,000 color illustrations, 30,000 internal cross-references and 30,000 external bibliographic references for further reading.
Cudahy Ref RC 334 .E53 1999 (Print) Offering a comprehensive and highly readable guide to a complex and fast-expanding field, this five-volume reference work gathers more than 10,000 entries, including in-depth essays by internationally known experts.
Lewis Ref HB871 .E538 2003 (Print) Designed to encompass the large-scale changes in emphasis and research directions in population studies during the last 20 years, some topics covered include: rapid demographic expansion in poor countries; low fertility rates, etc.
This reference tool examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Includes biographies of significant theorists, political & social leaders and notorious racists.
Cudahy Ref BL 31 .E46 1987 ; Lewis Ref BL 31 .E46 1987 (Print) Provides a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
This reference tool addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.
Cudahy Ref QA 276.14 .E5 1982 (Print) Corresponds to 16 volumes of the print reference. Provides information about statistical theory and its applications in various scientific fields. New updates cover topics from computer technology to genetics.
The goal of EWIC is to survey all facets of life (society, economy, politics, religion, the arts, popular culture, sports, health, science, medicine, environment, and so forth) of women in these societies.
Contains 8,000 to 12,000 word essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns.
Gale Virtual Reference library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Choose 'title list' at the top of the screen to see which sources you are searching.
Cudahy ML100 .G16 1998 (Print) One of the most comprehensive online resources devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Containing more than 9,000 pages of material, 1,210 essays and images from 10 sources and hundreds of audio examples.
Comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art, (34 vols) The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Including ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles.
Cudahy Ref P29 .I58 2003 (Print) Covers historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines.
Lewis Ref HQ9 .E52 2003 (Print) Adopts an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency, and commuter marriages.
Intended to provide new scholarly articles in the field of Religion and Science. These articles were written primarily by European authors and are available here in translation. Supported by the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences.
Cudahy Ref H 40 .A2 I5 (Print) Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
Cudahy Ref BX841 .N44 2003 ; Lewis Ref BX841 .N44 2003 (Print) This 15 volume, second edition features revised and new articles. Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict.
Cudahy Ref DT58 .O94 2001 ; Lewis Ref DT58 .O94 2001 (Print) Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars covering Egyptian civilization, from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century.
Lewis Curriculum Library PN1008.5 .C66 2003 (Print) Includes feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.
Lewis Ref HC15 .O94 2003 Articles range from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to overarching, 8,000-word essays on markets, industries, and labor. With coverage ranging from accounting and advertising to zoning and zoos.
Cudahy Ref E184 .S75 O97 2005 (Print)
Over 900 A-to-Z articles of the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
Cudahy Ref PN2035 .O94 2003 (Print) Provides information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. Entries range from short definitions of terms to lengthy considerations of genres and movements.
The definitive reference work for women in history, with over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.
Over 100 reference titles covering a broad range of subjects: everything from General Reference, Language and Quotations to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional