Loyola University Chicago Libraries

English as a Second Language (ESL): Finding Full Text

Starting in a Database - Print

If you  find that we do not have access to the online version of the article you would like, you may still be able to find it in the print journal collection in the library. Here are the steps:

1. Go to the Online Catalog to determine if Loyola subscribes to the journal in which the article was published.

2. Use the Journal Title search in Catalog and enter the name of the periodical. Make sure to enter the publication title, not the title of the article!

3. If the title comes up in the catalog, carefully look at the record to see if we have the volume and issue that the article appeared in. Also, write down the call number of the journal and which library it is located in.

4. Go pull the journal off the shelf! In Cudahy, current journals are on the Main Floor and bound journals (older journals) are on the Lower Level. In Lewis, all journals are on the 6th Floor.

Starting in a Database - Online

After you spend some time working on your search and identifying the articles that you want to read, you need to find the full text of the article.  First, look for either of these links:

If you see one of these by an article, you can just click on the link to get the full text of that article.

 

If there is no full text link, click on this link to see if we have this article online in another database:

This link will bring you either to the full text article itself, or it may just bring you to the online journal that the article is from.  It's important that you compare the date of the article you need against the date range of our online journal subscription because this link will bring you to the online journal even if we don't have online access to the particular year your article is from.

Starting with a Citation

When you have the citation for an article you would like to find you can use the Electronic Journal page or the Online Catalog to see if Loyola has access to it without having to go into a database. 

On the Electronic Journal page you can see all the journals which Loyola has online access to. If the journal in which the article is located is listed, you can open the online journal and then search for your article within it.  Pay attention to the year, volume, and issue number listed in your citation!

If the journal is not listed on the Electronic Journal page, you may also wish to search for the journal in the Online Catalog.  Look below for information on how to search the Catalog for journals.

What's in a Citation?

 

Subject Guide

Niamh McGuigan's picture
Niamh McGuigan
Contact:
Niamh McGuigan
Head of Reference Services
Cudahy Library, 113
773-508-2637

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service by which students, faculty, staff and administrators may request books and dissertations or journal articles not owned by any of the Loyola Libraries.  If the item you are looking for is not located in any of Loyola's databases or the Catalog, you can go to https://illiad.luc.edu/illiad/IAL/logon.html to Login to ILLiad.  To fill out this form and place an interlibrary loan request you must log into your ILLiad account. If you do not have an ILLiad account you will need to register first.