Loyola University Chicago Libraries

English as a Second Language (ESL): Online Databases & Research Tools

Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete

  • Provides indexing in wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, political science, international studies, and multi-cultural issues.

CQ Researcher

  • Covers a wide range of social, economic, political and environmental issues. Each report is divided into specific sections to guide research. Each report is on a single topic more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies for further reading.

JSTOR

  • Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Searching in JSTOR can be tricky because you search the full text of the articles. If a word shows up once in the article, it will appear in your search.

Wilson OmniFile

  • Provides access to articles, images, abstracts, and citations from over 4,000 journals contained in the following six Wilson full text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Reader's Guide, Social Sciences & Business.

     

Databases @ Loyola

Loyola Libraries subscribe to over 200 online databases. These databases often contain articles and other materials that are not freely available on the Internet - meaning, they get you what Google can't.

These databases are all different. Some of them contain the full text of journal articles, others will point you to the full-text in a different database, and some will just give you citation.  (See the next tab on this subject guide for more information on finding full-text.)

And since all these databases are so different, don't hesitate to ask a librarian for help! 

Searching Tips

  • When you search in a database, you can enter search terms and combine them using Boolean operators, just like in the library catalog.

  • Experiment with lots of different search terms. Think of as many synonyms for your topic as you can. For example, City = Urban center, metropolis, etc.  Also, once you find an article that is on your topic, look at its Subject Terms for more search terms on your topic.

 

  • Think about all the different databases you could find articles on your topic and then consider what kinds of articles those databases might have.

For example:

  • The ABI/INFORM Global database might say how great a company like Walmart is (considering its yearly profits), while a database like Environment Abstracts might have some not-so-great things to say about Walmart's past environmental practices.

Subject Guide

Niamh McGuigan's picture
Niamh McGuigan
Contact:
Niamh McGuigan
Head of Reference Services
Cudahy Library, 113
773-508-2637

Subject Specific Databses

Loyola Libraries has created many Subject Guides which help you find information and resources on various subjects, including databases.

Click here to find the appropriate subject guide and then look for the Databases tab in that guide.