Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Forensic Sciences: Home

Sources for Research in the Forensic Sciences.

LU Forensic Science Program

http://www.luc.edu/forensicscience/

Loyola University Chicago 

College of Arts & Sciences 

820 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago,

IL 60611
Phone:  773.508.3676  

Online Reference Sources

  • AccessScience Encyclopedia of Science & Technology  - McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia (10th ed.) has fully searchable content by more than 5000 researchers, including 36 Nobel Prize winners; and includes up-to-date technology including Flash® animations, image galleries, podcasts, and videos.

  • Community of Science (COS)   The most comprehensive source of funding information available on the Web, with more than 22,000 records, representing over 400,000 funding opportunities, worth over $33 billion. This includes none science-related funding projects.

  • Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics   This major scientific reference tool contains all the most frequently used data in science, including the periodic table of the elements, basic constants and units, and geophysical data.

  • Drugs.com  The publishers of PDR now provide the same information online for free at Drugs.com. This site includes an A-Z list of drugs, side effects, drug interaction reports and various medical reference tools to aid in searching.

  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online Consists of a fully searchable and browsable, authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, and articles not found in the print Britannica.

  • Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry   The Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry addresses the fundamental discipline of biological chemistry underlying virtually all of the life sciences. Includes related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics.

  • Encyclopedia of Life Science   Covers the range of life sciences research. It highlights structures, processes, methods, systems and applications. Includes 6,000 color illustrations, 30,000 internal cross-references and 30,000 external bibliographic references for further reading.

  • MasterFILE Premier   Contains full text for nearly 1,750 periodicals, 500 reference books, over 164,400 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 440,000 photos, maps & flags.

  • Material Safety Data Sheets   Complete collection of MSDS in easy to read PDF format. After logging in with zoneid: loyola and the password: msdslibrary, the database is searchable by name, Registry Number and MSDS Number.

  • National Information Resource on Ethics and Human Genetics- NIREHG   Funded by the National Human Genome Research Institute and NIH this resource supports numerous information services including links to genetics organizations, digital collections, DNA patents, bibliographies,syllabi and print publications.

  • Oxford Reference Online Over 100 reference titles covering a broad range of subjects: everything from General Reference, Language and Quotations to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.

  • Reference Universe    Reference Universe not only provides data about reference works but searches deeply into the indexes of more than 20,000 electronic and print reference works.

  • Sage e-Reference   This e-book collection contains over 60 of Sage's authoritative and award-winning encyclopedias. Browse by either the Readers Guide, Entries, A to Z listing or by Index.

  • Statistical Abstract of the United States   Standard summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the U.S. Includes data from governmental and private sources. Serves as a guide to other statistical sources

  • Stat-USA    A database of government produced statistics and general information on economic, business and international trade information. A service of the Economics and Statistics Administration. Click on the "Log-in Now" button to access.

  • Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry, Fifth Edition    Concise one-volume encyclopedia for students at all levels. Fifth Edition covers such new topics as nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, combinational chemistry, and materials science.





     

Temporary Liaison

Yolande Wersching's picture
Yolande Wersching
Contact:
Lewis Library
25 E. Pearson, Room 612
Chicago, IL 60611
312-915-6623
ywersch@luc.edu

Links:
Profile & Guides

Subjects:
Pastoral Studies

Subject Guide

Susan Wardzala's picture
Susan Wardzala
Contact:
Social Work / Criminal Justice Librarian
Lewis Library
Loyola Libraries
25 E Pearson #616
Chicago, IL 60611
312-915-6635
swardza@luc.edu
LYNC: swardza
Website / Blog Page

LOCL Feed

Loading