Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Forensic Sciences: Criminal Justice Sources

Most Used CJ Indexes

  • Academic Search Premier - provides indexing in wide range of academic areas including criminal justice, business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural issues.  
  • Criminal Justice Periodical Index - focuses primarily on practical issues, including crime prevention, juvenile delinquency, policing, and criminal justice in general. Coverage includes U.S. and international journals. The database includes abstract and indexing for 240 titles, with more than 80 available in full-text. 
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Database Service http://www.ncjrs.gov/abstractdb/search.asp
    The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 180,000 criminal justice publications. Good source for administrative and "trade" resources in law enforcement.
  • PsycINFO - an abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 periodicals.  This American Psychological Association publication covers articles, books and book chapters, dissertations and other secondary resources in psychological areas including forensic psychology, criminal behavior, juvenile delinquency, drug & alcohol rehabilitation and penology.

  • Social Science Citation Index   Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.

  • Social Services Abstracts Covers current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 periodicals.

Reference Sources

Books and Monographs

  • Pegasus - Find books, journal titles, a/v materials, e-books, dissertations and all materials owned by Loyola Libraries

For materials not at Loyola may be easily requested through ILLiad.

  • Books in Print - Over 6 million in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios, and videos from North American publishers, distributors and wholesalers. Full-text book reviews from sources including Choice, Kirkus, Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, and School Library Journal.
  • Center for Research Libraries (CRL) -  is a consortium of North American universities, colleges and independent research libraries to which Loyola University Chicago belongs. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers journals, documents, archives and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching. These resources are then made available to member institutions cooperatively, through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery. 
  •  Resources for College Libraries (RCL) - The RCL list features 65,000 titles in 58 curriculum-specific subjects. This collection of recommended titles serves as the basis for a suite of resources for curriculum-development, student research, reference, and bibliographic instruction. to search by a variety of criteria including: RCL subject, LC Classification Range, Dewey # Range, Audience, Format, Awards, and date added to the database. Contains full-text reviews from Choice.
  • Worldcat - Records of any type of material cataloged by member libraries of OCLC, the world’s largest library cooperative, and its member libraries.  WorldCat contains more than 70 million records representing more than 1 billion physical and electronic items owned by libraries worldwide. Includes library holdings information and full authoritative bibliographic data.  Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.

Subject Guide

Susan Wardzala's picture
Susan Wardzala
Contact:
Social Work / Criminal Justice Librarian
Lewis Library
Loyola Libraries
25 E Pearson #616
Chicago, IL 60611
312-915-6635
swardza@luc.edu
LYNC: swardza
Website / Blog Page