Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Forensic Sciences: Databases

Other Databases of Interest

National Transportation Library - is an index to:

  • NTL Digital Repository (Actual digital documents selected for the NTL collection and stored (hosted) on the NTL's servers.  Electronic resources for the NTL digital repository are selected according to the NTL's Collection Development Policy.  Resources in the NTL Digital Collection are primarily technical, research and policy documents provided by federal, state, local, tribal and other government agencies.
  • Other Transportation Website: also known as our portal collection. Web sites and digital documents hosted on servers outside the NTL but selected by NTL as particularly useful and valuable.
  • The Bureau of Transportation Statistics administers

TRP Publication Index - indexes publications from the Transportation Research Board, Highway Research Board, Strategic Highway Research Program, or the Marine Board from 1923 to date.

Databases

  • Academic Search Premier
  • Anthropological Plus A combined search of Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index.
  • AnthroSource (now on Wiley InterScience) Wiley InterScience recently acquired and added the American Anthropological Association collection of journals, newsletters, and bulletins; including the complete archival holdings.
  • Biological Abstracts - An index with abstracts to periodicals in biology and the life sciences.
  • BioMed Central : BioMed Central publishes close to 200 peer-reviewed open access journals.
  • EHARF World Cultures - Contains more than a quarter of a million pages of full-text descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Indexed by culture and subject.
  • HEIN Online  Available through the Law Library Web Site, HEIN Online offers access to Law Journals, legal classics, Congressional documents, legislative histories, Supreme Court reports, and the U.S. Statues at Large.
  • Legal Information Institute - LII is known internationally as a leading “law-not-com” provider of public legal information. They offer all opinions of the United States Supreme Court handed down since 1992, as well as decisions selected for their historic importance.
  • Lexis-Nexis - The single best resources for comprehensive legal research, Lexis-Nexis includes the ability to search for Legal Decisions, Shepard's Citations, legal reviews, and related news and content. 
  • PubMed : The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
  • Science Direct - ScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
  • SciFinder Scholar : Compilation of Chemical Abstracts, Medline, and related substance and reactions databases. Chemical Abstracts includes indexes and abstracts of articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations.  For more information on using this database see:  http://libguides.luc.edu/content.php?pid=5444&sid=200717
  • Web of Knowledge (Web of Science) : This resource links to the ISI Citation Indexes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation.
  • Wiley Interscience : A collection of scientific, technical, medical and professional journals. And more recently the American Anthropological Association collection of journals, newsletters and bulletins, including the complete archival holdings is now available.

 

Subject Guide

Susan Wardzala's picture
Susan Wardzala
Contact:
Social Work / Criminal Justice Librarian
Lewis Library
Loyola Libraries
25 E Pearson #616
Chicago, IL 60611
312-915-6635
swardza@luc.edu
LYNC: swardza
Website / Blog Page