Loyola University Chicago Libraries

RefWorks 2.0: Creating a Bibliography

Creating a Bibliography

Creating a bibliography in RefWorks is easy to do. Make sure the references you wish to use in your bibliography are all together in a folder before you try to create bibliography from them.

  1. From the RefWorks menu, choose Bibliography> Create or click on the Create Bibliography button
  2. Select your Output Style.  Click on Access Style Output Menu to see the full list of possible citation formats to choose from
  3. Select  Format a Bibliography from a List of References
  4. Choose your file type
  5. Select which references to include
  6. Click Create Bibliography

In-Text Citations (Using Write-N-Cite)

Write n' Cite allows you to input citations directly into a Microsoft Word document. With a click of the mouse you can insert citations directly from your RefWorks database into your paper. When you are finished, Write n' Cite takes all of the citations you used and formulates a bibliography from them. It makes citing resources easy!

Great news! There's a new version of Write-N-Cite for Windows and Mac. The new version offers:

  • Built right into Word
  • Auto formatting while you write.  Changing citation styles has never been easier.
  • Auto-managed footnote and formatting styles
  • Full support for Mac, Windows, or across platforms
  • Seamless online/offline access to your references
  • Professional citation and bibliography customization tools

To download the latest version, log into your RefWorks account. Download links for Windows and Mac are available from the "Tools" menu.

Older Versions of Write-N-Cite

The "Write -N-Cite" sign will appear on all Word 2003 and earlier documents in the top right hand corner. In Word 2007, it appears in the add-ins menu. It also appears as a shortcut on your desktop.

 

Citing References: Steps

  1. From Microsoft Word click on Write-N-Cite in the right top corner of the Word document or on your desktop to launch Write-N- Cite.
  2. Log-in using the same login and password you use for RefWorks.
  3. Select the proper folder from View Folder.
  4. In your paper click where you want to insert the citation.
  5. Switch to Write-N-Cite and click the Cite link adjacent to the correct reference. (Note: Write-N-Cite automatically inserts double curly brackets as well as the Ref ID, Author Last Name, and Year. This is a placeholder.)
  6.  To cite a second reference in the same location, click the Cite link for the second reference. The reference information is automatically inserted in the same set of curly brackets.

 Note: The in-text references are not the final product—they are coded. The final document will be formatted when you create a bibliography.

Creating a Reference List/Bibliography

  1. Click Bibliography to generate the formatted paper. (Recommendation:  Don't create your bibliography until your paper is completely done!)
  2. Select the Output Style and select Create Bibliography

Note: Write-N-Cite will create a bibliography and in-text citations from the records that you cited.