RefShare is a module within RefWorks that provides users with a quick and easy way to share their database (or folders) further enhancing collaborative research. Users can share their RefWorks references with both members of their own institution and globally with any researcher having Internet access.
From this page you can:
E-mail the URL for your shared folder
Determine print, export and bibliography generation options
Allow comments to be added
Include any RSS feeds currently in your RefWorks account.
Turn your shared folder into an RSS feed for others to access
Choose one or more Output Style Options
You can share a folder or database from the Organize & Share Folders tab in the main viewing area of RefWorks.
In the Organize & Share Folders area, you'll see a list of your folders. You have two options:
Share your enter database (all references and all folders)
Share only a specific folder (or folders)
For each folder there is a Share icon and at the top of the list of folders is the same icon that will Share Entire Database.
Clicking on the Share icon will take you to a Shared Folder Options page. This page will allow you to set up various permissions for your RefShare Recipients.
Also, from the Organize & Share Folders area you can manage your shared references. After you click the Share icon , the icon will change to indicate the folder is shared. Clicking on the Shared iconwill display several options:
Share Link -- takes you into your shared folder or database.
Using the URL that is generated for your folder or database, you can also create a custom link to a specific reference that is contained in your shared folder or database. To do this, add the following to the end of the URL: & rn=XX (with XX being the RefWorks Ref ID assigned to the particular reference). Entering this custom URL in a browser will bring the RefShare Recipient directly to the Full View of that reference. The RefShare Recipient has access to the complete folder or database that the linked reference is contained in.
If you are in your shared folder or database and you click the View link for a particular record, you will find a link to this page link that you can click on to get the URL for that specific record (saves you from manually creating the link as described in the paragraph above). IE users can just right mouse-click on the link to this page link and copy shortcut to get the link as well.
Remove Share -- allows you "unshare" your specific folder or database making it inaccessible to any recipients and removing it from the Shared Area Page (if posted there).
Shared Folder Options -- takes you to the Shared Folder Options Page where you can edit or update sharing options.
Email this share-- launches an email template that you can use to send your unique URL to someone.
Once you click on the Share icon to share a folder or database, a URL is created. This URL can be emailed to your intended RefShare recipients. You can copy and paste this URL into your own email or, by clicking on the Email this share icon , RefWorks will create a message with the URL and some information for the recipient on how to use RefShare to view your references.
After clicking the Email this share icon :
Add the Recipients' e-mail addresses, separating multiple addresses with a semi-colon
Make any changes to the Reply to, Subject or Message areas in the appropriate text boxes
Click Send email
There is also a Reset button that will restore the default text in the text box.