Loyola University Chicago Libraries

RefWorks 2.0: Other Citation Managers

Citation Guide

Looking for more information on different Citation styles? Check out our Citation Research Guide!

Choosing a Citation Manager: RefWorks, Zotero, Mendeley, or EndNote

If you need to ...

Use:

Why:

… work from multiple computers or locations.

RefWorks Zotero
Mendeley

RefWorks is web-based which means that you can access it from anywhere you have an Internet connection. Zotero saves your citation library to your local computer, but syncs with multiple computers so you can work from home, work, or school.

… work without an Internet connection.

Zotero
Mendeley
RefWorks

Zotero and Mendeley store your citation libraries locally on your computer. RefWorks’ Write-N-Cite feature allows you to work offline

… archive web pages and import citations from sites such as Amazon and Flickr.

RefWorks
Zotero
Mendeley

Zotero and Mendeley allow you to easily save snapshots of web pages and annotate them within your citation library. RefWorks allows you to scrape citation information from websites with RefGrab-it

… work on a group project or share my citations with others.

RefWorks Zotero

Both RefWorks and Zotero allow you to share your citations through shared folders. With Zotero, you can give individuals or groups permissions to add and edit the citations in the shared folder. With RefWorks, you can also set up a shared group account for collaborating on group projects. 

… work on a mobile device

RefWorks Mendeley
Zotero

RefWorks offers mobile-optimized sites that work with any web-connected phone or PDA. Mendeley offers a mobile app for iPhones and iPads; Zotero has several 3rd-party mobile apps available.

Citation Manager Comparison Chart

 

RefWorks

Zotero

Mendeley

Web based?

Yes

Yes, lives in browser (Firefox plugin, or Internet Explorer, Chrome and Safari through Zotero Standalone). Can sync with online account but web library not editable

Yes. Also available as Mendeley Desktop, which can sync with online account.

Must be online?

Yes

No

No

Mobile capability

No app, but mobile-optimized site at http://refworks.com/mobile/

3rd-party apps available (www.zotero.org/support/mobile), or check your Zotero collection on your mobile device's web browser.

Native app for iPhone and iPad, or check yourMendeley library on your mobile device's web browser.

Cost

Free to LUC users and alumni (Libraries pays the subscription costs)

Free

Free

Word-processor compatibility

MS Word with Write-N-Cite, any other word processing program using One Line/Cite View option

MS Word, Open Office, Google Docs

MS Word, Open Office, LaTeX

Import from databases

Direct export from most databases and google scholar

Yes

Yes, with Mendeley Import browser plugin.

Import citation info from web pages

Yes, with RefGrab-It plugin

Yes. Also archives the page and allows annotations

Yes, with Mendeley Import browser plugin. Also archives the page and allows annotations.

Storage capacity

Default limit is 100MB per user, limit of 20MB per attachment

Unlimited local storage and data syncing; 100MB free Zotero web space (larger plans available for purchase)

Unlimited local storage and data syncing; 1 GB free Mendeley web space (larger plans available for purchase)

Attach associated files (PDFs, etc.)

Yes (limited)

Yes, with option to attach automatically

Yes, and can annotate

Search full text of PDFs

No

Yes

Yes

Create group  or shared libraries

Yes, but other users cannot add more references

Yes

Yes. Costs for private groups (1 3-member private group free).

Create bibliography w/ different styles

Yes

Yes

Yes

Other features

Access for web-connected mobile devices at www.refworks.com/mobile

Sync library w/multiple computers

Use tags to organize/search

Sync library w/multiple computers

Use tags to organize/search

References

  1. Choosing a Citation Manager: Zotero, Mendeley, EndNote and RefWorks. Penn State University Libraries: http://www.libraries.psu.edu/psul/lls/choose_citation_mgr.html (9/30/2011).
  2. Comparison of Reference Management Software. Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_reference_management_software (10/3/2011).

Zotero

zotero logo

Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself.

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.