Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Engaged Learning: Reference Shelf

Reference Works

Cabell's Directories
Cabell's Directories in Education, Psychology & Business are exhaustive listings necessary to assist the professional researcher and writer. Entries include: manuscript guidelines, acceptance rating, review type, no. of reviewers and type of readership.

Chronicle of Higher Education
A source for news and information from the world of academia. The full text of the current issue is available online every Monday morning. The Archive provides access to past issues from January 1995 to the present.

Encyclopedia of Associations
Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S. (46th ed.) and Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations. (45th ed.) Both reference titles are through the Gale Directory Library.

Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society
This encyclopedia presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present.

ICPSR Data Access
An archive of social science data for research and instruction in the social sciences, education, health sciences, and business. Read the information carefully before downloading data sets from ICPSR or placing requests with Research Computing.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
JCR offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluating the world's leading journals based citation data. JCR measures research influence and impact at the journal and category levels and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals

Learning and Memory
Provides an overview of the full range of current knowledge about learning and memory

MasterFILE Premier
Contains full text for nearly 1,750 periodicals, 500 reference books, over 164,400 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 440,000 photos, maps & flags.

PapersFirst
PaperFirst provides access to over 580,000 individual papers presented at conferences worldwide. It covers every congress, symposium, exposition, workshop, and meeting added to The British Library Document Supply Centre's proceedings collection.

Proceedings
Provides tables of contents of papers presented at conferences worldwide.

Professional Development Collection
Provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators. Including children’s health and development to pedagogical theory and practice.

Sage e-Reference
This e-book collection contains over 60 of Sage's authoritative and award-winning encyclopedias. Browse by either the Readers Guide, Entries, A to Z listing or by Index.

Teacher Reference Center (TRC)
This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Bibliographic database providing detailed information on serials published throughout the world. Covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a unique tool that makes searching for encyclopedia and similar material easier and faster by searching back-of-the-book indexes and article titles in thousands of reference works owned by Loyola University Libraries. If the Library has access to any online encyclopedia covered, you link directly to that entry. If not, Reference Universe connects to the Library's online catalog to show you if the Library has the print encyclopedia.

Subject Guide

Tracy Ruppman's picture
Tracy Ruppman
Contact:
Reference/Instruction Librarian
& Liaison for the School of Education
Lewis Library
Loyola University Chicago
25 E. Pearson #615
Chicago, IL 60611
312-915-6949 voice
312-915-6244 fax
truppman@luc.edu