Research Guides: Anthropology : Advanced Library Research

Advanced Research Tools

This page links to a number of the more advanced library research tools. These tools are useful for research on things like citation maps or word frequency or connect to lesser used materials such as conference proceedings and dissertations.

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Index of dissertations and theses with abstracts and full-texts. Coverage: 1861-present.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window
Provides citation data on multidisciplinary scholarly journals for evaluation and comparison. Coverage: 1997 - present.
JSTOR - Data for Research This link opens in a new window
A set of web-based tools for selecting and interacting with content from the JSTOR archive. JSTOR DFR allows full-text and field searching of the entire JSTOR archive using a faceted search interface, as well as access to document-level data including word frequencies, citations, key terms, and ngrams.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Index of scientific journals, books and conference proceedings focused on the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
PapersFirst This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index of individual papers presented at conferences, with abstracts from the British Library. Coverage: 1993 - present.
Proceedings This link opens in a new window
Citations of individual papers presented at conferences throughout the world. Coverage: 1993 - present.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary directory of international journals and magazines.
Web of Science (ISI Citation Indexes) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index of scholarly journals with citations. Coverage: 1980 - present. Limited to five simultaneous users.
WorldCat Firstsearch This link opens in a new window
Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Anthropology

Advanced Research Tools