Subject Guide
May Weber Ethnographic Collection
- Video slideshowCurated and managed by the Department of Anthropology at Loyola University Chicago, the collection consists of approximately 2500 pieces of ethnographic art collected in the mid to late twentieth century by Dr. May Weber, a Chicago-based psychiatrist.
NEW Primary Resources!
- Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland This link opens in a new windowFull text primary source providing access to over 150 years of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland's collection of association files, manuscripts, including photos and documents of the history of the association.
- Royal Geographical Society (with IBG) This link opens in a new windowFull text primary source collection of the Royal Geographical Society (with Institute of British Geographers). The Archive includes maps, expedition reports, fieldnotes, photographs, illustrations; journal manuscripts, proceedings and lectures.
Anthropology Research Guide
This Subject Guide is designed to provide resources and helpful information for Anthropology majors/minors.
Anthropology is a discipline that uniquely bridges the social and natural sciences. Anthropologists study the diversity of humankind as manifest through time and across the globe. The scope of anthropology is vast, and is divided traditionally into four major subfields, each of which contribute distinct perspectives on the issues of what makes us human:
- Biological anthropology addresses the physical properties of humans and their primate relatives, both now and in prehistory.
- Cultural anthropology investigates contemporary human cultures and the diversity of human social institutions.
- Archaeology concerns cultures of the past.
- Linguistic anthropology focuses on language and its interrelationship with culture.
Together, these branches of study teach us about modern human biological and cultural diversity, as well as our evolutionary origins, thereby enhancing our understanding of the past, present and future of the human species.
Most Used Resources
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of journals, newsletters, and bulletins, including the complete archival holdings from the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
- OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, images, abstracts, and citations covering education, general science, humanities, social sciences, and business. Coverage: 1982 - present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journal articles and ebooks related to the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage: 2-5 years from current.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources that covering a broad range of academic study.
- HRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowIndex of cross-cultural and ethnographic descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Collection is organized by cultures and ethnic groups.
- Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index of social science journals. Coverage: 1980 - present.
- Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland This link opens in a new windowFull text primary source providing access to over 150 years of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland's collection of association files, manuscripts, including photos and documents of the history of the association.
- Royal Geographical Society (with IBG) This link opens in a new windowFull text primary source collection of the Royal Geographical Society (with Institute of British Geographers). The Archive includes maps, expedition reports, fieldnotes, photographs, illustrations; journal manuscripts, proceedings and lectures.
Writing & Style Guides, etc
- AAA Writing & Style Guide (pdf) "AAA uses The Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition, 2015)
- LUC Writing Center - The center is a great resource that supports all undergraduate writing, especially upper and lower division writing assignments.