Explore Digital Collections
There are several things to consider when selecting a digital collection that will be appropriate for your research. Some things to consider:
Format - Collections can be loosely categorized into three groups. Some collections contain more than one format type.
- Text collections - monographs, poetry, reference works
- Periodicals - newspapers and magazines
- Archival collections - digitized materials from archives, including manuscripts and ephemera
- Government Documents
Time period - Most collections cover a specific time period. Some collections, such as Eighteenth Century Collections Online, are very much defined by their time period. Generally speaking, there are fewer digital collections for 20th Century materials, with the exception of some newspaper archives.
Periodicals
- African American Newspapers 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowFull-text content from African American newspapers published nationwide. Coverage: 1827 - 1998.
- American Periodical Series I, II & III (1741-1940) This link opens in a new windowDigitized images of full-text articles from American magazines and journals, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and other historical sources. Coverage: 1741-1900.
- Burney Collection of 17th and 18th Century Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThe newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.
- Caribbean Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text newspapers from the American Antiquity Society covering the Caribbean, slave trade, and colonialism. Coverage: 1718 - 1876.
- Chronicling America - The Library of CongressSearch and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910. Jointly sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3 This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary sources (images and historical newspapers). Coverage: 1600s - 1900s.
- Google News -- News Archive Search100+ digitized newspaper backfiles. Content may be freely accessible or require a fee. Loyola subscribed content discovered through the News Archive Search is not identifiable. Ask a librarian before paying fees.
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text historical newspaper articles from the Chicago Tribune (1905 - 1975), the New York Times (1850 - 2001), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), and the American Periodical Series I, II & III (1741-1900).
- Latin American Newspapers - World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowFull-text content from Latin American newspapers. Coverage: 1805 - 1922.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text news articles from 19th century newspapers published in the United States.
- Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from 19th century sources published in the United Kingdom.
- ProQuest Civil War Era This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary sources covering the American Civil War period. Includes eight regional newspapers and pamphlets. Coverage: 1840 - 1861.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
- World Newspapers Archive -- Latin American NewspapersProvides more than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary sources, books, and articles related to the history of the Americas based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography. Coverage: 1500 - 1926.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary sources covering history and literature from the 19th century. Coverage: 1773 - 1900.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, periodicals, and primary sources related to African Studies and the African Diaspora. Coverage: 1827 - 2003
Texts Archives (Monographs, Poetry, Reference)
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary sources from the 18th and 19th centuries covering British and American history. Coverage: 1700s - 1800s.
- Eighteenth Century Collection Digital Archives This link opens in a new windowFull-text British and American primary sources from the 18th century on history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science, and more. Coverage: 1700s.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary sources on British history from Pollard & Redgrave's Short-title Catalogue, Wing's Short Title Catalog, and Thomason Tracts. Coverage: 1473 - 1700.
- Early American Imprints This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary sources about life in 17th and 18th century America. Coverage: 1639 - 1819.
- American Verse Project This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of American poetry. Coverage: 1700s - 1920.
- Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature This link opens in a new windowFull-text corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe, including texts by St. Patrick, Augustinus Hibernicus, Columbanus, Sedulius Scottus, John Scottus Eriugena, and Peter Abelard. Limited to three simultaneous users.
- Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse This link opens in a new windowFull-text collection of Middle English texts including Chaucer's Canterbury Tales & Troilus and Criseyde, Langland's Piers Plowman, Malory's Morte Darthur, Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Everyman, and many others. Coverage: 1100 - 1500.
- Dictionary of Old English, Old English Corpus This link opens in a new windowFull-text copies of Old English texts.
- First Folio of Shakespeare This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of the 1623 First Folio of Shakespeare.
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text Greek and Latin classical texts with English translations formatted as ebooks.
- Middle English Compendium This link opens in a new windowFull-text compendium covering Middle English including the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English Prose and Verse based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse. Coverage: 1100 - 1500.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary sources covering history and literature from the 19th century. Coverage: 1773 - 1900.
- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary sources, books, and articles related to the history of the Americas based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography. Coverage: 1500 - 1926.
- Shakespeare Collection This link opens in a new windowFull-text reference data, scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare. Coverage: 1517 - 1975.
- State Papers Online: The Government of Britain This link opens in a new windowSelect State Papers Domestic and Foreign from the UK National Archives. Documents the British government in the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries.
- The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978Contains over 10 million pages of documents submitted to the Supreme Court, including briefs and petitions, oral transcripts, memoranda, and more. Covers 75,000 cases, including cases for which the Court did not issue a full opinion.
Workshop Instructor
Archival Collections
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary sources covering history and literature from the 19th century. Coverage: 1773 - 1900.
Open Access Digital Collections
- NINESNINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship) and is an organization that publishes and provides enhanced access to digital research on the 19th century and serves as a peer-reviewing body for digital resources in this area.
- 18th Connect18th Connect publishes and provides enhanced access to digital research on the 18th century and serves as a peer-reviewing body for digital resources in this area.
Government Documents
- State Papers Online: The Government of Britain This link opens in a new windowSelect State Papers Domestic and Foreign from the UK National Archives. Documents the British government in the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries.
- Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926 This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of documents from Anglo-American trials. Also contains English-language titles about trials in other jurisdictions, such as France. Coverage: 1600 - 1926.
- Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 This link opens in a new windowArchive of U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs including primary sources underlying court decisions in legal and constitutional history. Coverage: 1832 - 1926.