Loyola University Chicago Libraries

School of Continuing and Professional Studies: Home

Getting Started

Welcome to the SCPS Research Guide!

This guide will introduce you to to some of the resources that are available to you. In addition to this guide, it is highly recommended to look at the additional subject-specific Research Guides. Each guide contains various resources and tools that have been created to help you research based off of your subject of study or your research topic. If at any point you are not sure where to find specific information, you can always contact me or use our Ask a Librarian chat program.

Get Assistance

Ask a Librarian
Librarians are available 24/7 to answer your questions about library services, information resources, and conducting research.

Contact us using any of the following options:


Digital Media Lab


Both the Lewis Library and Information Commons provide Digital Media Labs featuring a wide array of robust workstations, multimedia applications and technical support for working with digital images, audio, and video. The labs also offer a wide variety of equipment for check-out, including digital cameras, video cameras, iPads, and audio equipment. See Digital Media Services for more information.

Located on the 6th floor of the Lewis Library, Room 605.

Most Used Resources

Additional Research Guides

In addition to this guide, it is highly recommended to look at the additional Research Guides that have been created for different subject areas. Each guide contains various resources and tools that are focused based off of discipline or topic area.

Interdisciplinary Databases

  • Academic Search Complete
    Provides indexing in a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural issues. (more info)
    A collection of electronic full-text journals. Titles are usually covered from their first issue, excluding only the most recent 2-5 years. (more info)

Get Materials

Interlibrary Loan
Request materials such as books, articles, and dissertations that are not otherwise available in the Loyola University Libraries.

Course Reserves 
Course Reserves are educational materials that have been set aside and made available for specific classes, and have shorter borrowing periods and different renewal policies. See Course Reserves for more information.

Document Delivery
Request scanned copies of articles and book chapters from Loyola's print collections.

Distance Education
The ILL office will mail books from the Loyola University Libraries to students enrolled exclusively in distance education courses and to graduate students who reside outside of Chicagoland (in the U.S.).


News from Loyola University Chicago Libraries.



Both the Lewis Library and Information Commons provides computer services for students by students, best effort help with technical issues for WiFi, Viruses, etc. 


If you are a Loyola Student requiring technical support, contact the ITS HelpDesk at 773.508.4487 to schedule an appointment

Located in Room 605 in the Lewis Library. 


Annette Alvarado's picture
Annette Alvarado
Lewis Library
25 E. Pearson, 6th Fl
Chicago, IL 60611

Writing Center

Schedule an appointment online!

Check out "How to: Writing Center" for a short tutorial on setting up appointments online. 

Preparing for your session:

  • Schedule online using http://luc.mywconline.com to make an appointment with a tutor. 
  • Be on time for your appointment.
  • Come to the Writing Center with your paper assignment and with rough drafts, if you have them.
  • Ask questions during your session, and keep an open mind when your tutor makes suggestions.
  • Remember: The Writing Center is not a fix-it shop; we work with you to improve your writing.