Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Women and Leadership Archives: Archival Sources

The Women and Leadership Archives' collections of personal papers and organization records can be found here. Finding aids for each collection include a description of records and instructions for use. Mundelein College collections can be searched separately here. Most of the WLA collections can also be found in the Libraries' catalog.

Terminology

Archival Terms:

Finding Aid - A tool that facilitates discovery of information within a collection of records.

Manuscript Collection - A collection of personal or family papers.

Oral History - An interview that records an individual's personal recollections of the past and historical events. This can include audio or video recordings, and transcripts.

Provenance - Information regarding the origins, custody, and ownership of an item or collection.

Repository - A place where things can be stored and maintained; a storehouse.

Scope & Content - A narrative statement summarizing the characteristics of the described materials, the functions and activities that produced them, and the types of information contained therein.

Want to know more? Find more definitions in the Society of American Archivists' list of glossary terms.


Women Religious Abbreviations:

BVM - Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary

CSC - Congregation of Holy Cross (Holy Cross Fathers)

HM - Sisters of the Humility of Mary

OP - Order of Preachers (Dominicans)

OSB - Order of Saint Benedict

OSF - Order of Saint Francis

SNJM - Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus and Mary

SSJ - Sisters of Saint Joseph

Archives with a Focus on Women's Collections

Professional

Women, Enterprise and Society - Harvard Business School

Archives of Women in Science and Engineering - Iowa State University

History of Nursing Archive - Howard Gotlieb Archival Research Center, Boston University


Religious

Sisters of Providence Archives - Seattle, WA

Jewish Women's Archive - virtual


LGBTQ

Lesbian Herstory Archives - Brooklyn, NY

June Mazer Lesbian Archives - West Hollywood, CA / University of California, Los Angeles


North East

Feminist Theory Archives - Pembroke Center for Teaching and Research on Women, Brown University

Christine Dunlap Farnham Archive - Pembroke Center for Teaching and Research on Women, Brown University

Sophia Smith Collection, Women's History and Manuscripts - Smith College

Riot Grrrl Collection - Fales Library and Special Collections, New York University


South

Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture - Duke University


Midwest

Iowa Women's Archives - University of Iowa


West

Nevada Women's Archives - University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Contact Us

WLA general phone: 773.508.8837

WLA website: luc.edu/wla


Nancy Freeman

Director, Women and Leadership Archives

nfreeman1@luc.edu

773.508.8432


Laura Berfield

WLA Assistant Archivist

lberfield@luc.edu

773.508.8804