Research Guides: Theology and Religious Studies: Databases

Databases provide information about journal articles as well as other materials which might include books, book chapters, dissertations, or conference proceedings.

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections related to Catholicism, religion, and theology. Includes the integration of the Atla Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Coverage: 1949 - present.

Index Theologicus (IxTheo)
Indexes journal articles and book chapters; only partially duplicates indexing by ATLA Religion Database; use the catalog to determine whether a cited item is available here or requires interlibrary loan.

Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts and limited full-text articles and books covering the Old Testament, including theology, biblical studies, and the Christian religion. Coverage: 1985 - present.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts and limited full-text articles and books covering the New Testament, including theology, biblical studies, and the Christian religion. Coverage: 1985 - present.

RAMBI
(Note link to English language interface in upper left corner.) Indexes journal articles in Jewish studies; use our catalog to determine whether a cited item is available here or requires interlibrary loan.

Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Index of literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Coverage: 1906 - present.
Corpus Thomisticum This link opens in a new window
Full-text works of Thomas Aquinas and associated bibliographies covering studies of his works.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources that covering a broad range of academic study.
Covers anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles and ebooks related to the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage: 2-5 years from current.
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly journals covering humanities and social sciences. Coverage: 1907 - 1984.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Index, including abstracts and some full-text, of books and journals related to philosophy and ethics. Coverage: 1940 - present.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index covering Medieval studies, history, philosophy, theology, and literature from the European Middle Ages. Coverage: 400 - 1500.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Index of articles and reviews from journals covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Coverage: 400 - 1700.
LUC Library Catalog Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
A search tool for finding books, journal articles, media, and other materials in the library collection. The advanced search provides filters and scopes to narrow your search results.

Dissertations and theses written at Loyola University Chicago have records in the Dissertations and Theses database; use the universities/institutions index to limit a search accordingly.

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Index of dissertations and theses with abstracts and full-texts. Coverage: 1861-present.

Research in Ministry Online
Indexes American and Canadian Doctor of Ministry and Missiology projects from 1981 forward.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.

CDRI: Digital resources for the study of religion This link opens in a new window
Collection of digital images of various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography. Its coverage focus includes ancient Near East; missions; world religion; and more.

Index of Christian Art
Provides a thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of fine art from around the world. All images can be freely used for educational and noncommercial scholarly purposes.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Complete audio recordings of classical music.
Use the students/faculty personal accounts as login credentials for the NML mobile apps.

ARDA (Association of Religious Data Archives)
ARDA allows you to interactively explore the highest quality data on American and international religion using online features for generating national profiles, maps, church membership overviews, denominational heritage trees, tables, charts, and other summary reports. Over 350 data files are available for online preview and most can be downloaded for additional research
United States Religion Census, 1952-2010
Provides population information.
Barna Group
Allows limited access to its research findings.
Pew Research Center's Religion & Public Life Project
Provides survey data and demographic analyses.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Digitized maps and census data related to demographic information in the U.S. Coverage: 1790 - 2000. Limited to three simultaneous users.

Google Scholar

Set Loyola University Chicago as your library in Google Scholar and your results lists will include links to articles in our library's e-journal collections. Start at this settings page and search for Loyola in the text box. From the results list, choose Loyola University Chicago Libraries - Find it at Loyola and then click the blue save button near the bottom of the page.

Conduct a Google Scholar search and you will see the full text links on the right side of the results list.