Research Guides: Census Research: Databases and Web Sites

Statistical Resources

Annual Economic Surveys-- U.S. Census Bureau -- The Census Bureau collects and produces economic information to provide more up-to-date data throughout the decade.

Annual survey of manufactures. Geographic area statistics.
Provides sample estimates of statistics for all manufacturing establishments with one or more paid employee
County Business Patterns
An annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.
Nonemployer Statistics
NES is an annual series that provides subnational economic data for businesses that have no paid employees and are subject to federal income tax. This series includes the number of businesses and total receipts by industry.

Other Surveys and Datasets

Decennial Census of Population and Housing
The U.S. census counts each resident of the country, where they live on April 1, every ten years ending in zero. This site gives access to official publications of the decennial census from 1790 through to the current census.
Economic Census
The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and response is required by law.
National Data, GDP & Personal Income
Interactive website that includes National income and product accounts (NIPA) tables, providing the following data on the U.S. economy: gross domestic product (GDP), gross domestic income (GDI), national income, corporate profits, government receipts and expenditures, personal income and disposable personal income, personal consumption expenditures (PCE) or consumer spending, and personal saving.
Local Area Personal Income and Employment
Shows the geographic distribution of U.S. economic activity and growth. This data provides a consistent framework for analyzing and comparing individual state and local area economies.
Agricultural Resources and Environmental Indicators (AREI) Databases and Mapping Tools
Provides information on population, income, poverty, food security, education, employment/unemployment, organic agriculture, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, and agricultural exports. Links to available county-level data are included.

Explore Census Data

Explore Census Data This link opens in a new window
Data covering the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas. Includes, population, economic, housing, and geographic information. Coverage: 2000 - present.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.

In the spring of 2011, the Census Bureau announced that the edition that year would be the last one produced at government expense.

ProQuest has now taken on responsibility for updating and releasing this publication, the most used statistical reference tool in U.S. libraries. We bring to this task 35 years of experience in acquiring, abstracting, and indexing Federal Government statistical publications and tables.

See the link below for the most up to date information.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Data sets and statistical sources from the United States government covering American history, demographics, and census data.

American Community Survey

United States Census Bureau - American Community Survey
The ACS collects data on an ongoing basis, January through December, to provide every community with the information they need to make important decisions. They release new data every year, in the form of estimates, in a variety of tables, tools, and analytical reports.

Search Census Records through FamilySearch.org

The Family History Library (FamilySearch.org) is a non-profit service sponsored by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The Church has been gathering and preserving genealogical records worldwide for over 100 years.

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City will be placing the entire 1790-1930 United States Census index online in a freely accessible format.

If you choose to use family search, be aware of the privacy policy and potential uses of your personal data.

FamilySearch

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Census Research: Databases and Web Sites

Statistical Resources

Explore Census Data

The Statistical Abstract of the United States

American Community Survey

Search Census Records through FamilySearch.org