This is the "Home" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guide to print and online resources for research in psychology.
Last Updated: Jan 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.luc.edu/psychology Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

noteworthy

News from Loyola University Chicago Libraries.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Introduction

This research guide is designed to highlight major print and online psychology resources available through the Loyola University Chicago Libraries. It also provides links to important web resources offering a wide array of freely available psychology information. Please use the tabs above to find information on various topics.

Quick links to major research databases are found in the box below. A more detailed list of databases relevant to research in psychology is found under Databases, the second tab at the top of this guide.

Most Used Resources

  • PsycINFO
    Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.
  • PsycTESTS
    PsycTESTS serves as a repository for the full text of psychological tests and measures, as well as a rich source of structured information about the tests. A wide variety of test types are included in the database, including achievement and aptitude tests, intelligence tests, tests of cognitive functioning, occupational tests, personality tests, and so on. In-depth indexing of the tests and related information allows users to quickly identify the availability of tests in a certain area and to find helpful information for research and studies. NOTE: To access PsycTESTS click on PsycTESTS in the upper left, and unclick the other options in this top box.
  • DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders)
    The 5th edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, or DSM-5, published by The American Psychiatric Association, provides standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals, both clinicians and researchers.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
    Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Includes MMY.
  • PsycTHERAPY
    PsycTHERAPY contains more than 300 videos featuring therapy demonstrations showing clinicians working with individuals, couples, and families. More than 230 different topics are covered throughout hundreds of hours of filmed demonstrations. It is a highly flexible tool with synchronized, searchable transcripts that enhance user navigation and access. Includes the ability to tag segments of each therapy demonstration to create, save, or share personal playlists. NOTE: To access PsycTHERAPY, click on blue PsycTHERAPY link near the middle top of the page.
  • Counseling and Therapy in Video
    Provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling: 609 hours and more than 648 videos on completion.
 

Questions?

If you have questions about using any of these resources or would like some help with your research, you have several options:

  • Visit the Reference Desk at the Informatio Commons, in Cudahy Library, or in Lewis Library to get help from a librarian.
  • Call the Reference Desk at 773-508-2654.
  • E-mail a reference librarian to ask a question or schedule an appointment for in depth research help.
  • Use one of our virtual reference services to chat or text with a reference librarian

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Stephen Macksey
Contact Info
Reference Department
Loyola University Chicago Libraries
1032 W. Sheridan
Chicago, IL 60660
office phone: 773.508.2644
Send Email
 

Psychology in the News

PsycPORT: Psychology in the News, sponsored by the American Psychological Association

Loading Loading...
blank padding

CUDAHY | IC | LEWIS | ROME
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES | WOMEN & LEADERSHIP ARCHIVES
LAW | HEALTH SCIENCE

Loyola University Chicago Libraries
Cudahy Library · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773.508.2632
Lewis Library · 25 E. Pearson St., Chicago, IL 60611 · 312.915.6622
Comments & Suggestions
Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip