This is the "Home" page of the "Image Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Image Collections  

This guide highlights image collections subscribed to by the Loyola University Libraries and selected collections openly available on the Web.
Last Updated: Aug 30, 2012 URL: http://libguides.luc.edu/images Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected Image Collections on the Web

Licensed Art Collections

  • Grove Art Online
    Comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art, (34 vols) The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Including ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles.
  • Saskia Art Images Collection
    Collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches, the Uffizi, and the Louvre and archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey and Egypt.
  • ARTstor
    A digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Newspaper Images

  • AP Images (Associated Press)
    One of the largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. AP photographers have captured the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment.
  • Historical Newspapers (Proquest)
    Includes the Chicago Tribune (1890-1985), the Chicago Defender (1905 -1975), and the New York Times (1850-2001). Use the "more options" feature to limit to illustrations or photographs.
  • Photographs from the Chicago Daily News: 1902-1933
    Includes 55,000 images captured on glass plate negatives between 1902 and 1933 by photographers of the Chicago Daily News.

Reference Librarian

Profile Image

Need assistance? Please access our Need Help guide for all of our help options, including our 24/7 AskLive reference chat service.
Contact Info
Cudahy/IC Reference (773) 508-2654
Lewis Reference
(312) 915-6631
Send Email
 

CUDAHY | IC | LEWIS | ROME
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES | WOMEN & LEADERSHIP ARCHIVES
LAW | HEALTH SCIENCE

Loyola University Chicago Libraries
Cudahy Library · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773.508.2632
Lewis Library · 25 E. Pearson St., Chicago, IL 60611 · 312.915.6622
Comments & Suggestions
Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip