Medieval Studies at Loyola
Selected Web Sites
- NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval ResourcesA directory of internet sites for Medieval Studies.
- ORB: The Online Reference Book for Medieval StudiesWritten and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students.
- The LabyrinthA clearinghouse of web sites for Medieval Studies.
Print Reference
Dictionnaire du Moyen Age
Call Number: Cudahy Main Stacks CB353 .D53 2002
Lexikon des Mittelalters
Call Number: Cudahy Reference D 101.5 .L49
Featured Collections
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL)CRL's "Topic Guide" on Medieval Studies resources available to member libraries. Students, faculty, and staff at Loyola University Chicago may request use of CRL materials via Interlibrary Loan.
- Cetedoc: Library of Latin TextsContains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965).
- Corpus of Middle English Prose and VerseA collection of Middle English texts including Chaucer's Canterbury Tales & Troilus and Criseyde, Langland's Piers Plowman, Malory's Morte Darthur, Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Everyman, and many others.
- DScriptoriumDScriptorium is devoted to collecting, storing and distributing digital images of Medieval manuscripts (D is for Digital).
- Encyclopedia of the Middle AgesA collaborative work of over 600 scholars from more than forty countries, the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. It explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history.
- Luminarium: Anthology of English LiteratureAn online anthology of English literature.
- Medieval Sourcebook: IntroductionThe goal of this site is to provide teachers and students of Medieval history with an online collection of historical documents in translation.
- Medieval Sources OnlineA web-based learning resource containing hundreds of original medieval history documents compiled for the teaching and study of history.
- Old English CorpusA searchable database of old English. This edition of the Corpus has been constructed from a version supplied by the DOE project in November 2004. It represents a more correct version of the Corpus and supersedes all previous versions.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Middle AgesCovers all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military TechnologyExamines all aspects of warfare and military technology in medieval times. Provides an exhaustive and accurate view of how and why wars were waged throughout Europe, the Byzantine Empire, and the Crusader States between 500 C.E. to 1500.
- Past Masters (InteLex)InteLex acquires and develops definitive editions of the full corpora of the seminal figures of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles and essays, and correspondence.
- Patrologia LatinaAn online version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina published between 1844-1855. It comprises the works of the church fathers from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to the death of Pope Innocence III in 1216.
Featured Book
The Middle Ages in Texts and Texture: Reflections on Medieval Sources
Call Number: Cudahy Main Stacks D113 .M53 2011
ISBN: 9781442604902
Publication Date: 2011
The Middle Ages in Texts and Textureis an introduction to medieval Europe unlike any other. These 26 essays, written by accomplished scholars all trained at the University of California, Berkeley, reflect on medieval texts and the opportunities they present for exploration of the Middle Ages. Introduced in a foreword by Thomas N. Bisson (Harvard University), these essays present a textured picture of the medieval world and offer models for how to reflect fruitfully on medieval sources.
Subject Librarian |
Contact Info Cudahy Library Loyola University Libraries Loyola University Chicago 6525 N. Sheridan Road Chicago, IL 60626 Phone: 773-508-2773 (Jane Currie) Fax: 773-508-2993 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
