Subject Librarian
All-Hours Research Help
Generalist librarians offer particularly helpful guidance with online source identification and access.
Library Quick Links
On this Page
Please scroll down to find these resources:
Essential Resources
Online Reference Sources
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Secondary Source Digital Text Collections
Essential Resources
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles (as well as books, book chapters, dissertations, and similar materials) on American and Canadian history for all time periods.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles (as well as books, book chapters, dissertations, and similar materials) on world history outside the United States and Canada from 1450 to the present.
Learn to use the historical time period limit in these two essential research databases using this illustrated help sheet.
- LUC Library Catalog Advanced Search This link opens in a new windowUse the books/ebooks option button to scope the search results to these item types.
- WorldCat Discovery Advanced Search This link opens in a new windowAdjust result list sort to relevance in order to eliminate weighting of locally-held titles.
Online Reference Sources: Individual Titles of Note
- American National Biography This link opens in a new windowContains information about individuals who influenced American history.
- Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowContains information about individuals who influenced British history.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American Urban HistoryProvides an overview from the pre-Columbian era to the 21st century; edited by Timothy Gilfoyle of Loyola's Department of History.
Online Reference Sources: Collections
Start here to discover a topic, define a term, check a name or event, or identify recommended sources.
- ABC CLIO Electronic Reference Library This link opens in a new windowProvides a publisher-based collection of subject-specific encyclopedias.
- Brill Online Reference Works This link opens in a new windowProvides a publisher-based collection of encyclopedias on classical and Islamic history.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowProvides a publisher-based collection of subject-specific encyclopedias; may be browsed by subject.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes a collection of subject-specific encyclopedias and other sources.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Provide introductory essays and extended, authoritative reference lists on diverse topics; ideal for identifying and narrowing a research topic and identifying suitable sources for research. Select from the subject modules listed below.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: African American Studies This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic Histories This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Renaissance and Reformation This link opens in a new window
Secondary Source Digital Text Collections
- ACLS Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, and Religion This link opens in a new window