Loyola Home
Pegasus Catalog
My Library Account
ILLiad Account
Blackboard Account
LOCUS Account

E-Books 

This guide provides access to a selection of licensed and free online book databases.
Last update: Aug 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.luc.edu/ebooks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  

Licensed Scholarly Book Collections

  • Cambridge Collection Online  
      
    Full-text of over 200 Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; and Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Includes over 2,200 essays on these topics.
  • Cambridge Histories Online  
    Historical reference compendium of renowned texts from the Cambridge Histories series, comprising over 250 volumes published since 1960. Covers political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
  • Humanities E-Book Project  
      
    The Humanities E-book Project (formerly the History E-book project), was created by the American Council of Learned Societies.
  • NetLibrary  
      
    An interdisciplinary selection of e-books selected by the Loyola University Libraries. You must be connected to the Loyola campus network to create your account.
  • Oxford Scholarship Online  
      
    The complete text of over 1,100 Oxford Press titles in the subject areas of Philosophy, Religion, Political Science, and Economics and Finance. New titles are added each month.
  • PsycBooks  
      
    Full-text of over 1400 scholarly books and over 22,000 chapters published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes the Oxford Press Encyclopedia of Psychology, and 50 classic books in psychology dating from the early 19th century.
  • Safari Tech Books Online  
      
    Safari Tech Books Online is a ready-reference resource covering certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linus/Unix, Web development, Windows, XML, and more technologies. Over 7,330 titles are avaliable in their complete full text.

Licensed Reference E-Book Collections

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)  
      
    An interdisciplinary selection of reference titles that includes important works such as The New Catholic Encyclopedia, Encylopedia Judaica, and the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences.
  • Oxford Reference Online  
      
    Over 100 reference titles covering a broad range of subjects: everything from General Reference, Language and Quotations to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
  • Sage e-Reference  
    Over 60 of Sage's authoritative and award-winning encyclopedias.

Selected Book Collections on the Web

  • eScholarship Editions  
      
    Provides free access to over 400 titles from the University of California Press.
  • Google Book Search  
      
    Google has digitized millions of books from library collections, including hundreds of books related to Old English literature, with various translations and editions. The search results provide book reference pages that often include reviews, citations,
  • PROJECT GUTENBERG  
      
    A collection of over 6000 e-books.
 

Reference Librarian

Profile Image

Chat requires JavaScript.


Contact Info:
Cudahy/IC Reference (773) 508-2654
Lewis Reference
(312) 915-6631
Send Email

 

LOCL Blog


Loading RSS Feed...
 
University Libraries: Cudahy | IC | Lewis | Rome ||| Other Loyola Libraries: Law | Health Science

LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO
Cudahy Library · 6525 N. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60626 · 773.508.2632
Lewis Library · 25 E. Pearson St., Chicago, IL 60611 · 312.915.6622
Send comments to: libwebber@luc.edu

Description

  Loading content... please wait