Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry : The Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry addresses the fundamental discipline of biological chemistry underlying virtually all of the life sciences. Includes related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics.
Encyclopedia of Evolution (Oxford) : Entries by leading experts survey essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, and discuss both the history of the field and current controversies.
Encyclopedia of Global Change : Encompassing tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, and permafrost melt, the 300 articles in this unique and wide-ranging encyclopedia investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (Wiley) : Covers the range of life sciences research. It highlights structures, processes, methods, systems and applications. Includes 6,000 color illustrations, 30,000 internal cross-references and 30,000 external bibliographic references for further reading.
Oxford Reference Online : Over 100 reference titles covering a broad range of subjects: everything from General Reference, Language and Quotations to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Annual Reviews : Comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Published yearly in focused disciplines within the Biological, Medical, Physical, and Social Sciences. (Click on Ecology, Evolution & Systematics)
Anthropological Plus A combined search of Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index.
AnthroSource (now on Wiley InterScience) Wiley InterScience recently acquired and added the American Anthropological Association collection of journals, newsletters, and bulletins; including the complete archival holdings.
Biological Abstracts : Indexes bibliographic references to the life science journal literature.
Environment Abstracts : Environment Abstracts encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides expanded coverage of energy-related issues.
Medline: Produced by the National Library of Medicine, Medline is the premier database for finding information in all areas of medicine, and also includes such disciplines as nursing, allied health, nutrition, health services administration.
Ovid : A collection of biological and medical databases including Medline, CancerLit, and PsycINFO among others. Allows cross database searching.
PsycINFO: The essential resource for finding resarch articles on topics in psychology.
Science Direct : ScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
Springer Link : A collection of full-text math and science journals.
Web of Knowledge (Web of Science) : This resource links to the ISI Citation Indexes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation.
The web is a great place to search for background information. It can also be a great way to find out what other universities and research bodies (such as the gov't) are looking at. Simply limit your Google search with the site function.
National Science Foundation's Evolution of Evolution : A site dedicated to 150 years of Darwin's On the Origin of Species and how it has influenced different areas of science.
NOVA's Evolution Portal : From Darwin’s diaries to the latest studies in genomics, explore the past and future of evolutionary science. Watch videos, hear from experts, and more.
ActionBioScience.org : A resource of the American Institute of Biological Sciences with links to stories, interviews, and documents related to evolution.
Evolution Video Series : A collection of 7 lectures given at the University of Arizona on various aspects and types of evolution.
A Symposium on Evolution : Presentations from a program called From RNA to Humans: A Symposium on Evolution put on at The Rockefeller University.