Terms
Here are some basic definitions.
- catalog - A searchable database of all the books, journals and other materials available in a library. Our catalog is called Pegasus.
- citation - Information needed to identify a book or article; includes author, title, publisher, date, etc.
- database - A computer file that can be searched to find information on a specific topic. The libraries subscribe to many databases (see Articles by Subject). Some databases include citations, while others have full text.
- e-book - A book that is available in electronic format, usually over the Internet. The libraries subscribe to an e-book service called NetLibrary.
- FAQ - Short for Frequently Asked Questions. Many Web sites have an FAQ to aid users.
- in process - When a book is listed as in process in the catalog, it is a new book either on order or being processed by the library staff. You can request an in process book using the online form.
- index - A database that contains references (citations) to articles and/or books.
- interlibrary loan - The process used to request a book or article from a library outside of Loyola. Used when Loyola does not own the item you need.
- intercampus loan - The process used to request a book or article from a library on another Loyola campus.
- off-campus access - Connecting to Loyola library resources from a computer outside of the university-- for example, from your home or workplace.
- Pegasus - Name of Loyola's online library catalog.
- portal - A web site that offers a starting point for Web exploration. Yahoo is an example of a portal.
- proxy server - The proxy server allows you to sign on with your Loyola ID and access library resources from off campus.
- recall - The process of requesting a book that is currently checked out by someone else. A notice is sent asking that the book be returned before the due date.
- reference - The library department that assists users with finding information and using library resources.
- reference by appointment - An appointment set up with a librarian for personalized reference assistance.
- remote access - See off-campus access.
- search engine - A device used to search a database or the World Wide Web. The interface to a search engine is usually a form that you fill in and submit. Google is an example of a search engine.
Reference Librarian |

Chat requires JavaScript.
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait