Search for Images on the Web
Selected Image Collections on the Web
- Digital Past
Digital Past, based at the North Suburban Library System , offers a treasure trove of photographs, postcards, diaries, oral histories, documents, movies, interpretive exhibits, and other historical materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cu - Digital Resources from Libraries, Museums, and Archives Allows you to search digital collections that received support from the Institue of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog More than a million digital images.
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery Over 600,000 images digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library.
- Time & Life Pictures: Defining Visions of an Enduring History
Content documents political and cultural events important to American history. - The World Digital Library Significant primary materials from cultures around the world, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, and photographs.
Licensed Art Collections
- Grove Art Online
Comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art, (34 vols) The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Including ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles. - Saskia Art Images Collection
Collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches, the Uffizi, and the Louvre and archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey and Egypt. - ARTstor
A digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Newspaper Images
- AP Images (Associated Press)
One of the largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. AP photographers have captured the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment. - Historical Newspapers (Proquest)
Includes the Chicago Tribune (1890-1985), the Chicago Defender (1905 -1975), and the New York Times (1850-2001). Use the "more options" feature to limit to illustrations or photographs. - Photographs from the Chicago Daily News: 1902-1933 Includes 55,000 images captured on glass plate negatives between 1902 and 1933 by photographers of the Chicago Daily News.
Subject Librarian |
Contact Info:
Cudahy Library
Loyola University Libraries
Loyola University Chicago
6525 N. Sheridan Road
Chicago, IL 60626
Phone: 773-508-2637
Fax: 773-508-2993
Send Email
Subjects:
General Reference, History, Asian Studies, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies
Cudahy Library
Loyola University Libraries
Loyola University Chicago
6525 N. Sheridan Road
Chicago, IL 60626
Phone: 773-508-2637
Fax: 773-508-2993
Send Email
Subjects:
General Reference, History, Asian Studies, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait